We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A visit to a real Dutch home kitchen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moeders

Moeders
Ranked #123 of 3,332 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A visit to a real Dutch home kitchen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our last night in Amsterrdam, we visited Moeders as it was recommend in Fodors and were not disappointed. Even though we did not have a reservation, the waitress made a place for us inside the cozy, homey restaurant on the busy Rozengracht street. All the menu items are prepared as if you were in your Dutch Mothers kitchen, I had the barbecue ribs which were to die for, my husband had the green pea soup which I tried then I had to order one for me it was so delicious....do not miss it! My husband also had the potato, sausage and sour krout smash which he said was excellent. The beer was cold and the service was perfect. A must if you spend anytime in Amsterdam!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sonjago3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    547
    143
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Dinner for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at this restaurant and we liked it. The food was good, friendly staff and very unique the decoration, the walls are fill with mums fotographs. Althougth, we recomend reservation, we did not have one so we had dinner outside.

Helpful?
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“No Dutch Mother Would Cook This Vile Stuff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was blessed with a Dutch mother. Neither she nor her mother nor her mother's mother would step a foot in this disgusting place. The Dutch are known for being clean. This place is not. Dirty tables, cutlery etc. I started with the pea soup. Dutch pea soup is supposed to be thick and stew like. This was more like prison watery soup. It was served in a very chipped ceramic/tin bowl made in China. Ugh, lead anyone? I literally got heart burn from it. Then I made the mistake of ordering some kind of fowl (guinea hen?) which arrived on a chipped plate and was so overly done that it was difficult to chew. The only saving thing might have been the mashed potatoes but they were smothered in a gross tasting brown sauce. Service was bad. Run run run away from this place and don't think that this represents Dutch food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to experience traditional Dutch food, and very originally decorated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Too bad we weren't hungry enough for the dish that combines all dishes they serve into one. We had instead the hotchpotch: a rig of mashed potatoes with spinach encircling a pool of a delicious sauce, accompanied by a meatball, a sausage and bacon. The service was extra friendly, and the decoration, made with pictures of the customer's mothers, that cover most of the restaurant's walls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murilo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great traditional Dutch meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This restaurant is a great place to have a traditional Dutch meal. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is excellent. When it is hot outside I recommend you sit outside as it gets very hot in the restaurant however still make a point of going inside to check out the decor. A truly unique experience. We had been to this restaurant before but upon returning to Amsterdam with friends had to go back. I think they loved it more than us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moeders also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Moeders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing