We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indonesian cuisine, bustling atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sama Sebo

Sama Sebo
Reserve with
Sama Sebo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #455 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $141
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Indonesian cuisine, bustling atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have eaten at this restaurant many times over the years, and always enjoyed the rice table and bustling atmosphere. We always looked forward to our special meal at Sama Sebo.

On our visit this month it was evident that corners are being cut, which is sad. The selection of individual rice table dishes was fewer, the portions were smaller, and the ingredients seemed of lower quality than previously. Ultimately the food doesn't taste as good.

Ok, the country is in a recession and times are hard for everyone, but most people, given the choice, would opt for a consistent high quality meal for perhaps a few euros extra, than a cheaper, washed out version of a dish at the previous price.

Also there are now many top class Indonesian restaurants in Amsterdam, so Sama Sebo needs to up its game a little to stay near the top. Yes, it is generally packed out, but there are three sittings a night and diners are sat like sardines elbow to elbow, some having to eat at the bar.

I see that it has slipped down to #359 in Amsterdam, which is not great. But we believe in this restaurant and it has served us well over the years. Please go back to how you were, Sama Sebo, and return to true Indonesian Rice Tafels of high quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theatreloverUK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    283
    120
    64
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto-Vecchio, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent indonesian cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

we booked this rest. A week in advance. Booking is necessary espescially on W.E.
Near the rijksmuseum. Excellent rijstafel, which includes a huge quantity of dishes. Most a them absolutely delicious. Extremely friendly, quick and efficient service and nice atmosphere.
Family dinner with very young kids and they loved it too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StarsHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great Indo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Difficult to get into - reservations a must - for good reason !

Great Indonesian cuisine at a very good price.

Rijstaffel a MUST DO !

They serve a Gwertzraminer type of wine as the house White - which complements their cuisine so well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DYNAMICREGGAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent Rijsttafel lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ate lunch here in October on the way to the Rijksmuseum which is a short block away. We talked the owner into serving a single order of Rijsttafel to the two of us for 30 eruos. This was plenty of food for us and despite the huge quantity of dishes everything arrived promptly.
The lunch was really very good and unique to us but at the same time there was an overall impression that the restaurant had prepared this meal so often that it lacked enthusiasm. In other words, a good restaurant with good food but nothing really special.
We had no trouble getting a table but we walked in the instant the restaurant opened for lunch and it was off-season. The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tummy Warmers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Seemingly popular with the locals and curious tourists like us. Not new to Indonesian cuisine, Sama Sebo's food doesn't strike me as truly authentic. But the keropok was tasty and the sambal deliciously spicy! We sat at the bar, and were served presumably by the owners, who were very warm and friendly. Food rating overall - average with above average prices.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank QinZir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sama Sebo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sama Sebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing