We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Customer Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guadalupe

Guadalupe
Reserve with
Guadalupe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,119 of 3,727 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
320 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Bad Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Found a nice outdoor cafe within walking distance of the hotel where we were staying. Ordered Mexican burritos and beer. When the plate arrived, the Salsa, sour cream and guacamole were all piled on top of each other. Normally they are served separately in small cuplets but certainly not mixed all together. We explained this to the server and asked if we could have a small dish of salsa served by itself for the person who does not eat the above-mentioned mixture. I agreed to eat the mixture since I like all three toppings, though not necessarily piled together. A small dish of salsa was delivered to the table.

When the check arrived, we were charged a significant amount extra for the salsa. When we questioned the charge, the person became verbally aggressive and unpleasant. We paid the entire bill and left.

It's too bad some people try to take advantage of tourists. We later ran into a foursome who were going to dine there. After we relayed our experience, they went elsewhere.

The restaurant lost out in the end. The burrito wasn't bad, the location was good and we would probably have made another visit to this place. They weren't busy and probably could have used the business ! !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MKS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    36
    35
    25
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We called in here on our last morning in Amsterdam for breakfast as we were passing trade. We enjoyed the food presented and the service was ok but slow. I ordered a full English which was good but they need to research it a bit better as I have never had pickled carrot before!
Guadalupe is almost opposite Amsterdam Central Station so ideal for a quick breakfast. Obviously I cannot comment on the lunchtime menu or evening. Have read the reviews i don't think we will be going back here. Shame because it's a great looking venue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Solentmancub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not the best Mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The portions are large and the food is OK that's why I did not choose 'poor', but prefer the chicken to the 'meat' fajitas (neef ? lamb?) as I am not too sure how many times the meat as been cooked, the tortillas that come with the fajitas are excellent. The burritos are lovely. But why is it so expensive ? Top tip use the the iCard you will get 25% off your food - but not the drinks. Beware, not tap water!, and drinks at more than 4 euros per glass this is a rip off. Quite difficult to find, it is just round the corner from the central train station. So it is average, and the good question another reviewer asked, why go to Mexican restaurant in Amsterdam in the first place ? Choose a Argentinean grill instead,

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teddymarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Eat and get stomach cramps”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I had a terrible experience here; the food oily that was overcooked or had been reheated several times. I complained and the manager he in return offered us a free drink. It was so disgusting that all we wanted was to get out of there. That night I suffered with stomach cramps. Never again, I will be writing to the Amsterdam health inspector.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GurpalLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Why everyone is so much against this place?
I discovered bad reviews after I've ordered so it was a bit too late to run away. And I'm glad that I didn't!
Small portions?! Well maybe if you order starters...
The staff was friendly, the food was tasty... So no idea why this place does not deserve 5 star raiting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank svetik569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guadalupe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing