We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good”

Welcome Vietnam Restaurant
Ranked #1,449 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I am not a Vietnamese specialist, so to me it tasted similar to Chinese food. Tried the crispy chicken which was tasty.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IanDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    41
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yzeures-sur-Creuse, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A winner every time!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This Vietnamese restaurant is a must for us every time we visit Amsterdam. In contrast to all other Asian restaurants on the Zeedijk (it has an entrance here as well as on the Geldersekade), this restaurant is spacious, well aired and not crammed. Food is authentic and delicious every time, service is friendly, the menu extensive and affordable. It is frequented by both locals, tourists and Asian families, we have never reserved beforehand, and never had a problem getting a table (even on a Saturday night, when Amsterdam restaurants all seem to be fully booked). Highly recommended, also for non-connaisseurs of Vietnamese food, all is well explained.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Just plain good food, not expensive, lovely service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Okay it is not the cosiest restaurant I have ever been to, but they do know how to cook! Nice and fresh food, authentic vietnamese cuisine, love the smoothies! The soups are great.
Staff is lovely, even if they don't understand you. They are quick and very forthcoming. The restaurant is near the trainstation, so comfortable ifr you want to leave town after dinner. Also a lot of bars near for a drink afterwards. We always leave satisfied!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil SG
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very authentic”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was looking for a Vietnamese Restaurant and this one was the only i found. I orderd the Bun (12 Euro) with springrolls, beef and it was very tasty. The pho (11 Euro) was little bit too small, to few noodles and small pieces of meat anyway since this restaurant was the only vietnamese restuarant i went 3 times in two days

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZiFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Extensive menu but disappointing food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This restaurant has very extensive menu, which already casts some doubt on food quality. I had Pho and was very disappointed. The broth was not at all Pho broth but a mixture of other noodles. They must have used the same broth for all kinds of dishes but if you really know Viet food, Pho broth has very distinctive taste and should not be mixed with anything! The dessert was mediocre as well.... At the end of the meal I had to run around for an ATM machine as they did not accept debit or credit card. Try Cafe Saigon or Xinh instead...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome Vietnam Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Welcome Vietnam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing