We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice terrace to enjoy a drink”
Review of Lokaal Edel

Lokaal Edel
Reserve with
Lokaal Edel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #813 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $34
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Lokaal Edel is located on the waterfront of 'Het Sieraad'. It's the modern version of a traditional eatery - kind of a 'living room for the neighborhood' - where you can meet people for a chat or sit comfortably in one of our nice arm chairs to read the newspaper. Every day we take care of friendly staff, good music, coffee with something sweet, good and affordable meals and a strong drink. We love sharing Lokaal Edel's space with our guests. If you too have a fun idea for your friends, colleagues or neighbors: let us know. Together we will make it into something beautiful.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice terrace to enjoy a drink”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

They have changed the restaurant since the last time I visited. I preferred the former design, because now it gave me the feeling that I was drinking something in the bar of a garden centrum. Never had dinner here, but the drinks are okay and in the summer it is nice to sit outside on the terrace facing the canals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfbkrebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    53
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location and a nice relaxing resto”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location, lovely building and décor and pretty good food. The menu for lunch, in the usual Dutch manner, is a bit thin (mainly sandwiches), but tasty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dusanpetkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
“Bad service, poor food, tough prices”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The atmosphere is not too bad, although the welcome by the host was absolutely not friendly. The tables weren’t very clean and the whole place looked pretty a mess. Few waiters and waitresses are definitely no professionals (e.g. glasses were taken from the plate at the top instead of at the bottom site) and apart from that not dressed as a waitress (shorts!). The drinks were served in glasses we might take with us going to camp, but not in a restaurant, especially not as a wine glass. B.t.w., I would not recommend the red wine (cabernet sauvignon), which my wife drank. The draft beers were not good draught. As an entrance some of our party (5 persons) ordered a cauliflower pie which wasn't a pie at all, rather a bound cauliflower gunk and moreover very tasteless. I ordered a Caesar’s salad which was not good as well and due to the wrong(?) dressing did not even meet the taste of a Caesar’s salad. Subsequently all the ordered main courses disappointed us very much including the French fries (very fat and overcooked). Because of the temperature outside (we were getting cold) we asked if we could have the main courses inside. No problem! However, as we took place a staff member who was sitting at one of the tables said something very unpleasant about us coming inside, which sounded as: they may not come in and should eat outside. The whole experience was really not good, so after having finished our main course we paid and left the place. Finally, the restaurant doesn't look very clean and hygienic. Edel seems to be a popular place to tourists and may be locals, but one doesn’t get value for money. We will not ever even think of going tot Edel again. Total cheque € 160,-.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just a different menu then usual. Very tasteful.”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Located in an old school. No nonsense service with some special items on the menu that we have not seen before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoelSmelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only real grand cafe in the area, great to sit outdoors in summer, food slightly overpriced.”
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Edel is one of only a few places in the Western part of town with a big city appeal. Especially in summer their outdoor seating area is fantastic, offering sun almost all day long and a great view at the passing boats. Inside the style isn't really to my liking... A bit too large and impersonal. Food is good, but not worth the price, although it's better for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobGordon_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokaal Edel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lokaal Edel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing