We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a restaurant with an ideal but with average food quality”
Review of Fifteen Amsterdam

Fifteen Amsterdam
Ranked #1,849 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $47 - $164
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Description: Fifteen restaurant in Amsterdam is an exciting offshoot of Jamie Oliver’s famous Fifteen London, a great example of one set of dynamic, generous people inspiring others to act. In this case, the ‘others’ are Sarriel Taus and Coen Alewijnse who have created this combination restaurant and chef’s school in partnership with Fifteen London to benefit the struggling young people of Amsterdam. So what’s it like at the dining end of the equation? Very cool. The arty cosmopolitan style includes vibrant graffiti-scrawled sheet metal walls contrasting nice with the smart, sleek modern lines, designer seating and white table cloths. The restaurant seats up to 200, yet can still feel right for an dinner a deux. Each night a tasting menu is on offer, inspired by Jamie Oliver incorporating only the freshest regional produce. The modern Italian menu changes weekly and includes one of Jamie’s favourite antipasti to start, a first dish of fresh pasta, gnocchi or risotto, second course of meat, fish, poultry or game, and, we’re quoting here, ‘a wicked dessert’. A wine tasting menu is available to match the food tasting menu, or choose your own from the excellent list.
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a restaurant with an ideal but with average food quality”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant wants to help young people with a troubled background find a new track in life by offering an on-the-job training.
Staff is very friendly but you notice they are still learning the trade. Food is good, the dessert was very good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit-StPauwels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    180
    139
    114
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the experince I was expecting. Left with a feeling of disappointment.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was very much looking forward to visiting Fifteen Amsterdam, having read about the idea behind Jamie Oliver's restaurant, but sadly the experience was very disappointing.

The warning bells sounded as soon as we arrived when the member of staff on reception offered to take my coat but for some unknown reason completely ignored my friend. Odd to say the least. The same member of staff then showed us to our table and asked if wanted to order drinks, this was before my friend had taken off her coat and we had even sat down. Odd again. Fifteen (no pun intended) minutes then passed with no sign of any drinks. Thankfully another member of staff noticed us and was much more helpful, quickly arranging our drinks and taking our food order.

We both ordered the same starter and mains. The Buffalo Mozzarella starter was quite nice but simple. Which meant I was more than ready to get stuck in to the main, namely the "Fifteen Steak", sadly the steak was a let down, chewy and a lower quality cut of meat, for 22 euros we weren't impressed, we also found it strange that a steak knife wasn't offered? An omission which served to further highlight the lack of tenderness in the meat.

Finally we arrived at the dessert course. My friend chose a Chocolate cake whilst I opted for a Tiramisu. Thankfully the desserts were much better than the main course, the Tiramisu in particular was very pleasant, but they could not make up for that poor main.

This left us both with an overall feeling of disappointment for a meal costing 45 euros each and given the "famous" name above the restaurant door.

We wouldn't recommend Fifteen to others, it sadly fails to live up to the hype.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amateurish”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Been there before and had good expectation. Actually food was quite average for a Jamie Oliver place. Service was very amateur. Understand it is kids but can (was) better. Will not go back.

Helpful?
Thank gombertd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
178 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Give it a miss...”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

On arriving home after my visit, I hear that this is a franchise and little/nothing to do with the Fifteen in London. Somehow that comes as a relief, as I'd expected far better. Decor is maybe 'urban warehouse', Ok but nothing great. Food and service let the place down. Limited choices on menu would have you think that everything would be well prepared and great ingredients, as they're simplifying. Carpaccio of beef starter was OK, seared tuna steak main wasn't particularly well cooked or flavourful. Accompaniments with the tuna bore no relation to the menu description! To complete a mediocre meal, the espresso wasn't great and the liquer ordered didn't arrive - when questioned after they'd 'run out' but hadn't thought to mention it or offer alternative. Oh, and that was after I found they didn't have Cognac or Brandy 'as it's not very Dutch'... ... Think the 3 stars I gave should've been 2 1/2. Will be looking for somewhere else to eat in Amsterdam next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Came here when the Moevenpick restaurant was full on a rainy April night. Well worth it. Limited Italian menu but good service and good food. Goodmodern decor and a surprisingly good (not not exepnsive) meal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graeme347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifteen Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Fifteen Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing