We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely friendly italians”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vinomio - CLOSED

Vinomio
Price range: $7 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Real Italian food and wine bar
amsterdam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly italians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

It's not one of the top restaurants of Amsterdam - but they give all their heart and soul to make you happy - taste their Dolcetto, and you know what I mean :-)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redbaron813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a shame!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Better cook your own pasta or gnocchi, the cook probably shops at the nearby supermarket!
Frozen shrimps and 14€ for my 3 year-old son for regular spagetthi!
The atmosphere is ok and the waitress was friendly but 62€ is really not worth it for 3 plates and 4 glasses of wine and a juice, you'd better eat ou in a brasserie, pub or café in Amsterdam!
Please don't go!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melkais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Urghhhh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

This was really a bad experience. We went there because it had good rating in Tripadvisor - but what a dissapointment. The food (pasta) was terrible, and the wine (Dolcetto) had none of the caracters that decent Dolcetto shall have, except beeing red.....

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 17x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Feeling at home abroad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Netherlands have a big problem... food suck badly, and when you are Italian being here for a while... this is an even bigger problem
Luckily we found this place.
I seat ready to get another fried interpretation of the Italian food, but when i heard the Italian accent of the waitress, things started to shape better. (She has to speak English since my wife is American).
When the food arrived, I knew the day was goign to get even better.
I seat back for a minute, look around me, the day was sunny and warm, we were seating on the edge of a beautiful quiet channel, and just by looking at my plate, i knew that was going to taste good.
Focaccia is perfectly made. Prosciutto freshly sliced, Tiramisú creamy but not heavy.
I had to ask for the owner to come talk to me, and i felt the need to compliment her for the nice job.
This restaurant applies the fundamental rule of Italian cousin: find very good ingredients, and don't mess up too much.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felizinRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, disgusting wines”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were 2 people alone in the restaurant and went for a quick stop in order to have some food. We were both surprised from the nice place despite the poor furnitures in a great location (city center, main street on a canal).
I'm not exactly a wine expert, but in my life i tasted hundreds of wines anyway. That wine i swear does not cost more than 1 euro per bottle, even worst from the ones you can find in the supermarket. I tried one glass of red wine and 1 white one (both the most expensive from the poor wine list.). Even more, the bartender was not able to specify which wine was it... just said "vinomio" (they pretend to have they own brand).
Beside this, food quality was excellent (pasta) but salami mix looked not very good and tasted very bad (rottten stuff?) In fact i did not finish my dish. Focaccia was the best ever.
Workers inside were rude.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bruxproux76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinomio also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing