We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marius

Marius
Ranked #869 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $38 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Already more then 10 years Marius is a concept as a small table d' hote with a daily changing menu of 4 courses. We adhere the refined country kitchen: simply real food made from natural ingredients, maybe French, maybe Mediterranean, but surely our expression of what we like and oh dear... How much we love veggies. Since we moved to our new location March 2012, we are slightly more of a restaurant and therefor a bit more spacious and comfortable. But at the same time it is still cosy and sometimes crowded with conviviality and we still partly have our family styled shared tables. At Marius we always serve what we find on the market. Our 4 course menu changes daily en costs 47,50 euro. Next to with the menu we always have a few specialities like Bouillabaise and Vitello Tonato. Alongside the menu we serve, if you like, a appropriate wine suggestion. But gladly we invite you to study our extensive wine card and find you your favorite bottle. When the weather allows we have a little Parisien like, sidewalk terrace.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

It's a bit out of the way, but the food and service more than make up for it.they service was wonderful and the pike fish course is one of the best dishes I've ever had. Go with the 4 course menu. You won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Totally delighted we got a reservation one day in advance only. It’s a part of town not many tourists will find (we not tourists) BUT if you a tourist seek out this little Gem. Fresh homemade food in a comfy casual atmosphere but with the taste of excellence...4 course meal, each dish mouthwatering...excellent wine selection. Perfect service. No not super cheap, but worth every nickel spent. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen123Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, va
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Welcoming Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Dinner for 2 on a Thursday night. Restaurant packed, smart looking crowd on the younger side. The two tables they had available were possibly the smallest most cramped tables we have ever sat in ---- but the restaurant staff was wonderfully friendly and about 10 minutes into our meal another table opened up and they offered to move us. Much appreciated, but even without that courtesy, we were charmed by the restaurant's warm and cozy feel and excellent food.

Bread that came with meal was just fantastic. Menu is short, drawn up daily, ranges widely (we had cod and partridge) and everything we ordered was fresh and flavorful. Desert was an upside down apple cake to die for. Well done!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hmcust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Marius is one of those rare restaurants that offers an authentic dining experience (a casual, 10 table restaurant tucked into a quiet neighborhood on the edge of the canal district) that has a simply amazing chef. The 4 course menu changes daily and truly offers all of the pleasures of upscale gastronomy without all the pomp and circumstance.

We were served two delicious fish courses followed by the best pork cheek I have ever tasted and a wonderful sorbet for dessert.

Marius has an excellent wine list and charming, helpful staff.

Marius is not a well-kept secret, so reservations are a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If Your Mom was Dutch & A Great Cook . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Mmmmmm. I'd read all of the reviews, but nothing prepared me for such great pairings of wine and food. Inspired cooking at the highest level without being pretentious. In a word: Perfect. As good as Chez Panisse, where I dine regularly, in a totally laid back atmosphere. Marius makes great eating fun. We took the Number 3 tram to the end of the line at Zoutkeetsgracht, walked across the bridge to the Barentszplein and Marius was easy to find in the next block.

Our main dish was roasted French pigeon (squab to those of you from the U.S.). It was flavorful, moist, not gamey tasting and its wine reduction sauce was smooth and layered. Served w/a deep, Spanish Rioja. OH MY. I'll have what she's having. We have 1 night left in Amsterdam. If we can scrounge together enough cash (they don't take credit cards)' we're going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WestBlithedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Marius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing