We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Taverna Barcelona

Taverna Barcelona
Ranked #1,298 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Ergue-Gaberic, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

A Very warm welcome, smile, excellent sangria and tapas! A bit of catalunya in netherlands. Don't hesitate a second

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Don't miss it! Real Catalan food in the heart of Amsterdam (pijp). The food is fresh authentic, atmosphere perfect, the guys running it are very nice. When we miss Barcelona we eat there and for many other reasons

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best food straight from Catalunya.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent wines and cavas from the land, very nice people, good and fresh food…
I truly recommend it.
Enjoy!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yereza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic catalán”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We've been going here for many years now, sitting outside on the sunny terrace and enjoying excellent cava or some really great wines (try the 2003 Montsant DO!) alongside very good quality small and larger dishes in the style of the owners' homeland Catalonia. The espresso and the brandies are also very good as well.

The interior is pleasantly decorated, cozy, with an inviting warmth and a melange of smells.

The taverna offers good value - all its products are of very good quality and the prices reasonable.

The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about their wines and food (and I'm sure about football as well, should you be interested in that).

Wholeheartedly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rapopescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique and cozy”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is not a regular tapas place, but a very specialized one (in catalán style food) i am a spanish expat living in the city and i can only say good things about taverna Barcelona . The quality of the food and the wine makes me feel home. ask for a tortilla catalana and let this guys surprise you!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Barcelona also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taverna Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing