We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yam Yam

Yam Yam
Frederik Hendrikstraat 90, 1052HZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 681 5097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #899 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: YamYam Trattoria Pizzeria has a traditional woodburning oven for pizza's. They also make fresh pasta dishes, meat and fish dishes. Vegetarians have a big choice of different tastes. Homemade ice-cream as well as perfect desserts. There is a terras. Take out is possible. To reserve a table, check the website.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quality food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We managed to get into this packed restaurant over Easter weekend just turning up even though it was full. Someone had reserved a table and not turned up, so the staff let us have their table. Starters of homemade tapanade and caponata, followed by excellent pizza and pasta dishes. Litre of house red plus coffees. 5 people. Laid back atmosphere, service fine. Enjoyed it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food and chilled out atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The food was wonderful, something like pizza is hard to make stand-out but this place does is perfectly. My fianceé could not stop talking about how much she wanted another one of their vegetarian pizzas with truffle sauce for quite a while, so they must be pretty damn good. The cats and dogs wandering about was quite nice too. Staff weren't too in your face but friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend yam yam to anyone visiting the Dam!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertnRachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have been several times and I've tried both the pizza and pasta entrees. Managers are not Italian, but nevertheless the food they serve is qualitatively very close to the quality that you can find in Italy. I suggest you book to make sure you find a place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An 'answer' to any client expectations”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

In this city not known for its service-oriented culture, this has got to be the worst service ever. I ate there with great pleasure many years ago, probably when it just opened and the food was excellent and staff friendly. Now all I can say is that the food is at best average, but overshadowed by unbelievable waiting times before being served as well as being confronted by a truly obnoxious manager. Go there only if you feel you must be punished for some of your sins.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want excellent food from a friendly local resturant this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a fantastic meal here. We booked for 7:30 and the place was bustling. Families were finishing their meals being replaced by a more adult crowd by around 8:30. Despite being foreigners in a restaurant that appeared to contain mostly locals we received good service from friendly staff. We had a couple of really good pizzas and an excellent dessert. Our Hotel was on the west side of the Gratengordel and it was around a 15 minute walk to the restaurant. Worth it in my opinion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yam Yam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Yam Yam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing