We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated beyond credibility”
Review of Cafe Loetje

Cafe Loetje
Ranked #147 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overrated beyond credibility”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I live in Amsterdam and was given a recco by a local friend to try this place, never again. Waited ages for a table, waited ages for service, when the 'steak' appeared I was not sure whether I should eat it or lace it up. Service was scheidt, atmos was loud but OK. Plenty of better places in the fine city than this utter khazi,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiffado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    489
    102
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Steak, great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are not in a hurry, this is a great place to go. It combines going out for a drink with having dinner. Since you can't make a reservation, you have a drink and hang out while you wait for a table. Steaks are excellent. I love the Bali steak (a bit spicy). The salmon wonton appetiser is also very tasty. The salad is fresh, but the dressing is not of my liking. However, I have had similar salads in Amsterdam so maybe it's a traditional dutch style salad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murphy555Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
182 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“cozy steakhouse for locals”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Contrary to the typical steakhouse in town, they only serve one cut of beef and only au jus and Bali sauce. Try the mushroom salad, which has a nice zing to it.

The place was good enough, I went there two nights in a row.

Reservations for 6+ pax only, but it moves quickly and the bar is efficient while you wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Carnivore's paradise!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Without a doubt some of the best beer and steak I've ever had the pleasure of sitting down to. The decor and atmosphere is relaxed and there is ample bar space in which to enjoy a local beer while waiting for a table. This is the epitome of simple but very good food. We will definitey visit again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ultanmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This small cafe is a locals’ favorite, and the reputation is well deserved. Fantastic steaks, excellent truffle croquette appetizer... absolutely delicious food. The presentation is simple, but the food does not disappoint. We could have been seated immediately in the interior of the restaurant, but decided to wait for the next table in the glassed in patio section, and it was worth the wait. I highly recommend planning for at least one meal at this gem of a restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Loetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing