We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant As

Restaurant As
Reserve with
Restaurant As is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #626 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went there as a small group. Nice and welcoming atmosphere at long wooden table. Friendly service personal immediately translated the menue. Food was very tasty. I will go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Springergabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    92
    20
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious, innovative cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner here last night. The freshly baked bread was divine, as were the two salads that were served as starters. The veggies are all picked that morning. The vegetable soup w cabbage was also delicious . Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank swannygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Original delicious organic top restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been to this restaurant several times now and it is one of my favourites. Located in the former chapel of the St Nicolaas Monastery and school, at the border of the Beatrisx Park, the atmosphere which strikes you upon entry is original and welcoming. In a circular room, with various niches, you can find yourself a cosy table, very low-brow, but pleasant. The service is excellent and no nonsense. The food is original, different every day, and of very high quality. This is one of the restaurants where a former top chef in an exclusive setting now finds still finds himself being "top", but in a far more relaxed, but still great environment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth hunting down!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a conference at the RAI and stayed at the Citizen M hotel and stumbled across this restaurant by accident when walking back in the evening. From the outside you probably wouldn't realise it's a restaurant during the day. It has chain link fencing around, covered with ivy and what look like picnic tables outside. And the building itself seems like a utlitarian concrete block.
On the inside, the tables are large wooden farmhouse style, arranged in a hub and spoke model. We hadn't booked and the waiting staff managed to find us a space in one of the side alcoves.
The menu is simple and fixed; there's just a limited choice of fish or meat for your main course. Since none of us are vegetarian, that wasn't a problem.
We thought that the food was great. It has a definite Dutch influence, with lots of use of root vegetables and brassicas (but then it was the Autumn). We had venison and veal which were cooked to perfection and red snapper (I think that was what it was), which was amazing.
My only downside was the dessert, but then I am not a pudding fan so I'm hard to please on that front.
It wasn't cheap, but the food was a really high quality.
The area around the RAI seems well served with good restaurants and this one, together with De Vliegertje which was outstanding, is well worth hunting down.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
242 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

ok we are not going to talk about servies in Netherlands because so far its the same and i don't really care, i love this restaurants! they have amazing dutch dishes!! the owner sander is very lovely and amazing guy!!!! very highly recommend while you are in Amsterdam!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant As also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant As? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing