We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting experience.”
Review of Semhar

Semhar
Ranked #541 of 3,905 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An interesting experience.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Dining at Semhar was an interesting experience. Completely new to Ethiopian food we went on the suggestion of a printed guide. The advice was to book in advance but we took a chance. It was a very rainy Saturday night and the place wasn't too busy.

We were welcomed warmly and our waitress explained the dishes. We had a mixed platter accompanied by Ethiopian beer. My wife's beer was a fruity one and mine was strong (7%) and tasty. The food was delicious and varied, accompanied by Ethiopian 'pancakes.' Some of the choices were described as 'hot' on the menu. I would compare these to a 'Madras' in Indian terms, nothing hotter.

Everywhere was clean, including the toilets (often a disappointment in ethnic restaurants) and we would definitely return and highly recommend it to carnivores and vegetarians alike.

I didn't mention it but I would have liked to listened to some indigenous music instead of easy-listening electronica. Maybe next time...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnzoPuzzovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    52
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
American in Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restuarant - we loved the food and the people”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our party of 4 ate dinner at Semhar to celebrate our friends wedding anniversary. We LOVED the Ethiopian cuisine - which was new to us - the exotic spices and various food combinations was delicious. The waitress and chef are charming and helpful.
We will go again when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarnyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kitfo”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I are huge fans of Ethiopian food and decided to eat here while on a layover. Good, friendly service and very clean. Really good traditional kitfo which is difficult to find. We had the vegetarian sampler platter. We also sampled the fruit beers which were interesting. It is rather expensive but what restaurant in Amsterdam is not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tatugrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
2 reviews
“Extremely enjoyable”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very friendly service and I ready enjoyed my dish. The samosas were outstanding! Atmosphere was very nice and up beat, good vibe all around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jr1999jr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I don't know what the fuss is about. I found the restaurant only average. I love Ethiopian and Eritrean food and been to most of the Ethiopian restaurants in Amsterdam but this is my least favourite. The food wasn't at all what I exptected. Ethiopian food is supposed to be spicy and this wasn't spicy at all! The interior is nice and the service is excellent, though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amsterdamned74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semhar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Semhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing