We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something completely different”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Semhar

Semhar
Ranked #555 of 3,750 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Something completely different”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had never had Ethiopian / Eritrean food before. It was a delight, we were quite early and there were Dutch families in with their children. Lovely atmosphere beautiful food. It's a small restaurant so, it's better to book because it is a bit off the beaten track if you get turned away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    51
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian/Eritrean I've Had”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As someone from Washington, DC (home to the most Ethiopians in the US), I'm not new to Ethiopian food. In fact, especially as a vegetarian, I love it! This restaurant was the best I've had. I got the spicy okra platter and was not disappointed. It was deliciously spicy and served with a perfect arrangement of accompaniments. The injera was particularly good - darker and a bit crispier than some of the soggy injera you find at other restaurants. Also, be sure to try one of the very original 9though sweet) beers served in a coconut glass - I went for the mango. The service was also very nice - I was there alone and the served asked if he could bring me a coffee table book about the people and history of Ethiopia - a great touch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food! Nice owner! ”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We came early, so we vere alone in the resturant. We ordered a vegetarian plate for two, and hade a bif plate with about 5 different steews/dishes. The food was tasty. Total cost w/ two beers around 40 ?

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“interesting, different and tasty”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family and I spent Easter in Amsterdam and having looked at a number of restaurants in advance decided to have our first dinner at Semhar. The only reason to be sorry that we chose this as our first restaurant was that it turned out to be the best dinner we had during our stay and would have been excellent on our last evening in Amsterdam.

The place itself is nothing really special. There are many places in Amsterdam situated along the beatiful canals - Semhar is not. There are many places which have payed much more attention to decorating the interior - Semhar has not. But the food was excellent and service friendly. Not only was the food excellent but having been to restaurants representing cuisines from all around the world experiencing the Ethiopian cuisine and eating it traditionally without knives and forks was an experience we will all remember.

We can sincerely recommend this restaurant to anybody visiting Amsterdam and promise that it is a meal you will not forget - because it is tasty and something a little bit different.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have eaten at a number of Ethiopian restaurants in Europe – including another one in Amsterdam - and Semhar is definitely the best. We dined here for the first time two years ago. The food was good and the service OK. This time, to our delight, both the food and service were excellent.
We shared a platter for two, with veal, beef and chicken dishes, lentils, chick peas, spinach and other vegetables – a great mixture of hot and mild flavors. The servings were generous, and the injeera perfect.
We were served efficiently by a lovely waitress who spoke excellent English. The restaurant is simple, but has a warm atmosphere, and the prices are reasonable.
Semhar is the next best thing to home cooking. If you enjoy Ethiopian food, this is the place to go to in Amsterdam.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catwoman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semhar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Semhar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing