We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple excellence!!”
Review of Restaurant RED

Restaurant RED
Ranked #94 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $29
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant Red is with its unique concept, lobster and beef fillet, one of Amsterdam's favorite dining spots. Overlooking the city's most picturesque canal, the 'Keizersgracht', Restaurant Red is ideally located in a canal house in the middle of the old city center of Amsterdam. Red is famous for her hospitable service, informal and warm ambiance, friendly prices and lasting quality. Red has been a 'must' for eight years now for everyone who is looking for an exquisite culinary experience. Whether you are touring the nearby museums and attractions or visiting Amsterdam for business, Red is the ideal place for your evening. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at Red in the nearby future!
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Simple excellence!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Cozy atmosphere, great food and service, excellent value!
Menu choice is either lobster or steak or both with salad and fries. Excellent service tops the taste.
Definitely recommended, but reservations are a must!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    310
    75
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Great wine, great steak and lobster. But felt a little guilty due to insane carbon footprint of my plate but I got over it quite quickly food and service was great.

Helpful?
Thank saphirap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best lobster ever !”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Red restaurant is a must if you are looking for a delicious meal and a very nice elegant setting. The restaurant is fairly small, lovely decorated perfect for a romantic dinner or an evening out with friends. The food is fabulous and I really liked their concept of only 2 choices but really well done. The starter, if you choose to have it, is an excellent caviar served on tiny warm pancakes and champagne, then you choose between lobster or steak or a surf and turf dish where you get half and half. Both were really exquisite but if I could go back I would do the whole lobster, honestly one of the best I ever had. Even the bread and salad are delicious.
The service was fantastic and friendly but make sure you make reservation (you can do so online)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank StellaB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect steak and lobster!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Lobster, steak, or both? Doesn't really matter, whatever you pick will be great!
I love this place, it is small but not at all cramped, the staff are lovely, the prices are exremely reasonable and the food is excellent. What more could you want?
Fancy and intimate enough to go to for a special occasion, but also cheap enough to go any time.
Make sure you book as it's small and they fill up quickly, oh and make sure you order a sgroppino afer your meal too, they are really great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovepeas111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatif
1 review
“A wonderful way to end our trip”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Our cousin reserved a table for 9. My husband and I arrived 1st. It was full and busy, we waited by the door until we were welcomed by one of the staff, she took us to the table and took our coats. The owner came and welcomed us.
The place is nice, and so comfortable comparing to lots of resturants in Amsterdam.
Finally when we all arrived, she started explaining the food service, 1 antre, 1 main then a menu for the dessert.
The food was amazingly delicious, cooked to perfection. Awakens all your senses, the smell the taste the presentation. And the desert was superb.
Loved the atmosphere, the friendliness of the owner and the staff and for sure the food.
The price is very reasonable. Highly recommended for couples and groups.

Helpful?
Thank zaksmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing