We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, reasonable food”
Review of Restaurant RED

Restaurant RED
Ranked #92 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Restaurant Red is with its unique concept, lobster and beef fillet, one of Amsterdam's favorite dining spots. Overlooking the city's most picturesque canal, the 'Keizersgracht', Restaurant Red is ideally located in a canal house in the middle of the old city center of Amsterdam. Red is famous for her hospitable service, informal and warm ambiance, friendly prices and lasting quality. Red has been a 'must' for eight years now for everyone who is looking for an exquisite culinary experience. Whether you are touring the nearby museums and attractions or visiting Amsterdam for business, Red is the ideal place for your evening. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at Red in the nearby future!
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good service, reasonable food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Got to this restaurant based on Tripadvisor reviews. Must reserve in advance. As adviced they only serve two dishes, steak and lobster. I went for the lobster, which was rather small. Nothing special about the food.
Desert was actually good, but overall not really worth the price

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    302
    75
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for a celebration”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had great food and fabulous service. It is very pricey . I am surprised that other reviews say there was bad service. We were the only non Dutch people there and the servers were great at translating the menu and explaining things. It is in a beautiful location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneF80220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stylish and delicious”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautiful restaurant in one of the best locations in Amsterdam. The place is very comfortable and well decorated.
The staff is super friendly.

And of course the food is absolutely delicious; they only serve lobster and steak, but it is probably the best I've eaten so far.

Price is rather high, but nothing exceptional seen the quality of this very stylish restaurant.

Be sure to book in advance since they are always full and be well-dressed since its a rather stylish place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad service.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My in laws were in town from California and they wanted to take me out for my birthday. I made a reservation and they confirmed by phone. When I got there I found out that they made my reservation for the wrong day. I explained them that it was a birthday dinner but all they had to say ( a blonde waitress) was " Mistakes happen". The manager ( I think Marcel is the name) was participating to the conversation and all he had to say was " I am sorry I can't do anything".
They called me 3 days after to apologize but that was it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank welsh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Service in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

After making a reservation a month in advance for a group and confirming twice on the telephone, the reservation was lost. Instead of apologising, the manager went defensive. Eventually blaming the customer and ignoring the situation. "Sorry this happened" is always a nice place to start when you make a mistake. I guess the manager missed the customer service 101 class.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Welvaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant RED also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant RED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing