We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly welcome - good grub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tio Pepe - CLOSED

Tio Pepe
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Grill, Argentinean, Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Tio Pepe is an Mexican restaurant with a combination of Argentinian steaks. On 5 minutes walking distance from the Amsterdam Central Station, you can enjoy in restaurant Tio Pepe very nice Mexican specialities and soft Argentinian steaks from the grill.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly welcome - good grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stumbled across this excellent restaurant on our last nights stay in Amsterdam, a difficult choice as it was sandwiched between Italian and Spanish (I think) restaurants. The staff were warm and gave us a friendly welcome and there was a relaxing atmosphere. We both agreed the food was excellent, as was the wine. Would we go back? Yes!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gringo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    69
    38
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice owner, shame about the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

After having walked for what seemed like forever looking for a decent place to eat, we came across Tio Pepe and decided to eat here. The staff were ever so friendly - the owner came over and spoke to us in Spanish which was sweet, albeit pointless as neither of us spoke the language.

Unfortunately, the food really was just awful. We ordered nachos to start, which came with pasta sauce instead of salsa. An interesting twist which was edible but not entirely to my taste...

This was swiftly followed by a very well done steak and some tough, un-marinated "bbq" ribs. The steak came with a sauce which seemed like it had been made a while back and left in the fridge, and the ribs required serious jaw action to remove the meat from the bone.

Due to all of this, we decided to leave rather swiftly and - bless her - the owner came out with some free liquor as a thank you for coming in. It really was such a shame that the chef wasn't as good at cooking as she was at hospitality!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelthorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner very much. The whole staff were friendly and accommodating. So much so that we chose to dine there a second time prior to leaving Amsterdam. The pricing was fair. Quality was excellent. Beans, rice and salad come with most meals. Fresh Mexican dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New twist on traditional Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great margaritas. Bartender and waitress very friendly. Food was very tasty and not smothered in sauce like traditional Mexican.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muttenz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
223 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was close to our hotel and looked good. Friendly service. Unfortunately inside I saw some spiderwebs, the meat was tough and the rest was OK. With the El Paso kits you can buy in supermarkets you will cook it with the same smell.

Helpful?
Thank WeisserWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tio Pepe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing