We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tio Pepe - CLOSED

Tio Pepe
Price range: $22 - $33
Cuisines: Grill, Argentinean, Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Tio Pepe is an Mexican restaurant with a combination of Argentinian steaks. On 5 minutes walking distance from the Amsterdam Central Station, you can enjoy in restaurant Tio Pepe very nice Mexican specialities and soft Argentinian steaks from the grill.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked Tio Pepe for dinner on New years eve as we had been there last new years eve too, good food and pleasant and helpful staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    69
    38
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I appreciated that it wasn't noisy (we could talk with each other and relax) and the service was good. The food was definitely good, and also compared to the price.

The food was simple, good and not greasy.

We shall most likely return and can recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Steen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Biggest Mistake of my Holiday!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at Tio Pepe was so horrendous that we now describe terrible things and events with the phrase: 'Tio Pepe'. We were charmed into the restauraunt by the charismatic man out the front. Do not make the same mistake we did! We all ordered nachos which were dry, flavorless and over cooked. We were then charged 5 euros per person for guacamole even though the menu states that nachos comes with guacamole. When we pointed this out to the staff they became rude and aggressive. Terrible food, terrible service. There is beautiful food in Amsterdam. Do not go here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleighjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressivo Mexicano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great food with warm welcoming ambience. Top quality steak, ribs and king prawns cooked to perfection rounded off with a nice warm Cafe Tio Pepe coffee (they do not hold back on the brandy). Well worth a visit but a bit too costly to afford every night!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pebbledashski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice food, relaxed service and warm restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Good food, large portions and friendly staff. Nice all round, we will come again next time we're in Amsterdam.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tio Pepe also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing