We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Truly great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vamos a Ver

Vamos a Ver
Ranked #1,302 of 3,561 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Starters were good, gamba's and albondigas, but then came the paella.. Wow! Dessert was also really nice (crema catalana). Waiters work hard, are friendly, and barely speak dutch (so yes, theyre genuinely spanish), which is a plus.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
312 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Best paella in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have been to quite a few 'Spanish' restaurants in the Netherlands, but overall the food does not resemble anything you would taste on the Iberian peninsula. Either the Dutch chefs have no clue about Spanish food or the Spaniards in the Netherlands happen to be the worst cooks. Luckily for those who love the Spanish cuisine, there is one restaurant in Amsterdam that serves pretty good paella, zarzuela and many tapas.

The choice of paellas is rather limited, but especially the paella marinera is delicious with fresh ingredients. Various tapas are also very tasty such as the fantastic almejas (venus's shell), albondigas (lamb meatballs) and gambas a la ajillo (gambas with garlic).

House wines are just average, but reasonably priced. Personally, I don't rate Spanish beers like Mahou or San Miguel very highly, but some people seem to enjoy them. Anyway, a little piece of Spain in the Netherlands and well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant is very well rated on IENS.nl, a Dutch restaurant reviewing website. So we had high expections. As we have been to Spain for holiday every year the past 3 years we could not wait to have good tapas and Spanish food. The food was good, but there is a big difference with food in Spain. In that sense we were a bit disappointed. But as I said to my partner during the dinner, if you have had very very good food before, then good food will feel only average. So to say the food is not good is not fair to this restaurant. But it is just not as good as in Spain. We had some starters and the Zarzuela. We feel that the fish in this dish was not so fresh, not sure but it might be that they use frozen ingredients. The Argentinean waiter serving us was very friendly and always smiling. Other waiters were also friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanFromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST SPANISH KITCHEN IN TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I’ve lived in Spain for twenty years, so I know
what a good paella or zarzuela can taste like.
Vamos A Ver serves the best and most authentic
Spanish dishes in Amsterdam (and in Holland?).
With a pleasant Mediterranean atmosphere and
extremely friendly, attentive service.
We’ll be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kuijper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Fantastic restaurant. Any tapa you order is divine! Very flavourful and reasonably priced. Excellent service, you're...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

Fantastic restaurant. Any tapa you order is divine! Very flavourful and reasonably priced. Excellent service, you're treated like a personal friend!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vamos a Ver also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vamos a Ver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing