We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Feel in the old town”
Review of New King

New King
Ranked #383 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Merimbula, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Modern Feel in the old town”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

looking for something light to each late and the combination long short soup was great. The staff were good and the decor modern. Every meal l saw go past me looked good enough to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerSkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    404
    125
    61
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Value big bowls of soup”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

After being caught in a storm it was great to find this place. It was about 10 at night and they were still open. A bowl of hot combination soup was just what we needed to warm us up. Cozy, modern and good service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ang1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great,but...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Good food, neat and pleasant service. And really value for money.
What was surprising and not good was that, my chicken was cold when served and I sent it out. The whole plate, with everything, including the lettuce (!), on it came back streaming hot. Even the bone that I chewed was there...all of it just went into the microwawe-oven. That is NOT highclass cooking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mats54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naul, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Food was not great. Chichen did not taste like chichen. Portions big but not very good. 2 main courses and 2 drinks for 2 people cost 45Euro. Found a much better chinese the next day off Dam Square, much better food half the price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank patricia421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food I've had!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stopped by New King after a recommendation from a local and it was just amazing. They had a good variety of dishes, both non-vegetarian and vegetarian. I loved how fresh the dishes were. You could tell that they don't use frozen veggies. For a city famous for their fries, it's nice to find something healthy and affordable. Each dish was about 10-16 Euros or so. Also, the pictures in the menu for each item really helped me make a choice as well, as so many dishes looked good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna_W34567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New King also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing