We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect atmosphere, food and prices!”
Review of New King

New King
Ranked #387 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere, food and prices!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Perfect for the prices you pay! The food is amazing and authentic chinese. Nothing like the mainstream chinese restaurants in Holland that serve ingrendient like cauliflower, etc. Addicted to this place! Fast and kind service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BehnazBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    393
    120
    59
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Went fairly late and they said no problem, once we orderd strarters and mains they said they would bring all the food together as they were shutting the kitchen ! So why sit us down at all ! Starter was fine, For main orderd the duck on rice, was totally tasteless and must have been 50% bones, every time I took a bite I was eating bones. At the end of the meal the waitress asked us if all was ok and I showed my plate was still half full with bones and I said I wasn't happy, her response was to say they could have cooked it without bones, don't think there would have been much on my plate, rice and duck skin, probably. We were brought the bill, I put the cash amount down in full and stood up, the waitress was straight over counting the money making sure I had paid the full bill before I had even put my jacket on ! She should have been asking how could they put it right after such a bad experience not just making sure I had paid the bill after such s bad experience. Just shows what the restaurant thinks of tourists, take the money and get rid of them , good experience or not !
Thank goodness for trip advisor so other possible customers can have a balanced view of such restaurants ! Would never go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnr3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
316 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Ok, nothing special”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Visited for a meal and left satisfied, nothing wrong but nothing that special. We arrived quite early and noticed by 1pm Sunday it was full, but the food came out quickly. Good Choice on Dim Sum's but main courses were not that special

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went to New King with my boyfriend last night after having read several positive reviews of it. We had to wait for around 15 minutes which was ok. Then we got a table downstairs which was a little less busy than upstairs. We got the menus, which was very nicely structured and small enough to not get lost in it. We had two starters - spring rolls and duck buns which were ok. The spring rolls were quite greasy. When we got our main course - I was quite disappointed. The sweet and sour chicken was quite good, but the noodles with chicken and duck meat was not at all how I had expected it. The meat still had bones in it, and was not mixed with the noodles. It was very messy to eat since you had to take the bones out with your fingers while everything was really greasy.
On the bright side - we shared a Chinese tea among us which was only €1.50.
The atmosphere was not particularly cosy, it was very average with wooden tables and chairs, no Chinese music rather Western music and very modern inside.
Overall the food was average, so was the atmosphere. Prices are decent with most main dishes in the €14 range.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It might seem slightly pricier than other chinese restaurants but the quality is infinitely superior than others on Zeedjik. I was recommended it by a local, and it was busy even though it was a Sunday at 3pm. There were quite a few chinese families which is always a good sign.
The duck buns and lamb satay for started were delicious. The singapore noodles were spicy and fragrant, stuffed full of prawns, meat and vegetables.
I had the stuffed aubergine, which was very filling and you got a lot for your money.

I would 100% go back here again. But get there early as queues were appearing when we left.

2 starters, 2 mains, and 2 beers came to 36 euros.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maneenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New King also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to New King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing