We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This place is a gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Sundeck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundeck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Sundeck
double bedroom in bow of the ship
first bathroom, next to first bedroom
1st bathroom
3rd bedroom
entrance
neighborhood
neighborhood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
j0y822
Los Gatos, California
1 review
“This place is a gem!”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The houseboat is such a clean, comfortable and unique venue to spend family time and explore Amsterdam. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay while visiting our son studying abroad. Easy walk to De Pijp neighborhood, easy public transport to other areas and even easy to catch Uber. The beds are quite comfortable too! Mariette is most welcoming and gracious, you will love this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2017
You were also quite precious guests :-)
Thanks for staying with us and please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDP-J
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We couldn't have made a better choice to 'live' in Amsterdam”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We wanted something a little different for our stay in Amsterdam and found it in the General Prague Houseboat on the Amstel River. Stylish, comfortable and well equipped, the creative design of this accommodation was a delight. A short walk to local shops and the No.4 tram which had us in Amsterdam Centrum in 10 minutes offered us the chance to feel like 'a local'. At the end of days filled with walking, sightseeing and exploring our chance to 'come home' to the General was a pleasure. Warm evenings spent sitting on the deck and raising a glass to the passing boats. The General was well equipped and we cooked in most evenings (we have a young son).The 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms offered the 5 of us private comforts. Incredibly comfortable beds. Missing it already. Highly recommended and made all the more pleasant knowing that our host, Marriet was on hand help us get the most out of stay but was never intrusive. Already planning our return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2017
I could not have wish better guests, you were a lovely family and I hope to see you back on board. Thanks!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thanks Khanh, I really hope you enjoyed the Dutch flowers, at the boat and in the Keukenhof.
We will sure take your suggestion about the kitchen lighting in consideration and we will do something about it, as soon as possible. I am glad you enjoyed the overall experience of the boat. Thanks for coming, hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a lovely time , but was a bit disappointed with overall condition of boat.”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Amsterdam with our daughter and son in law as our daughter had an important conference at a nearby hotel. I searched through TripAdvisor for days to find the "ideal location and unit" for our week long stay. The pictures and description and reviews led me to pick the Amstel River Boat. When we arrived the key, as stated, was not in the lock box but I will say the manager arrived within 10 minutes or so from our call.
We were extremely disappointed with the overall condition of the boat. The exterior was dirty - believe me I was tempted to pick up a broom immediately. The cushions were not on the chairs at the bow but were in a storage container and they were dirty and stained. Even though it was late March and the end of winter, we felt that the boat should have been cleaned prior to our arrival.
Interior - was better at first sight but upon walking around the skylights above the two bathrooms were so dusty and dirty that very little light was allowed to enter. I started cleaning the by standing on a chair and my husband and son in law immediately took over as they did not want me to hurt myself. The ceiling at the sky lights is covered in rocks - must be for decorations?? - but the dust on them was awful. I would believe that that area had not been cleaned since they were placed there with the first visitors in 2013 !!!! Cob webs hung from one section of the ceiling above the second bedroom!!! I used a can of Lysol spray on the floors of the three bathrooms !!
The furniture in the living area was awful. The yellow couch was stained and dirty and worn !! The arm chair had a cut out star on one of the arms -- this was to cover the large burn hole in the arm. The chair was again stained and dirty. Be very careful on the bow area as the stairs to kitchen area from outside are open and deep and no railing !! We moved a piece of outdoor furniture to help prevent one of us from tripping and falling.
I felt the price we paid was high enough that the boat should have been in the condition represented in photos. AND to top that off when we made out reservation the manager told us the price was not correct and we had to pay 200 euro MORE. Over all very disappointing !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2017
Dear Chuck and Pat, Thank you for your feedback. It feels a bit like a wakeup call, you definitely showed us some of our blind spots. I guess we became a bit too self-confident after all our very happy guests and great reviews for the last two years. Now we understand that we can always do better. Of course we immediately started spring cleaning and did order a new sofa for the living room.
It was a pleasure having you on board, I am glad you did enjoy the overall stay and the great weather in March!
Warm regards, Mariette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona G
Floreat, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique experience with all comforts of home”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This property was voted the favorite by our family of 6 after a month traveling which included stays at over 8 different locations. From the time it was booked until the day we left, the owners were friendly and helpful, giving information on all matters queried from directions to transport to shopping. It was spacious with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms (including a bath) a fully equipped kitchen, separate dining & living areas. It was almost like being home. They even had Apple TV & free wi-if included in the price. If you have mobility issues, particularly with stairs, however, it wouldn't be suitable as the different zones are separated by stairs. The boat doesn't move but is permanently moored on the Amstel.
We loved the location as it was 'local' meaning it was in a regular neighborhood outside of the tourist 'circle' of attractions but we could still easily reach these attractions either by tram or on foot (it took us about 40 mins to get to Dam square - maybe a bit long for some but our family enjoyed the chance to explore). There are supermarkets and restaurants an easy 5 minute walk. It was also relatively quiet.
The only negative was that the kitchen lighting wasn't great. I expect in summer when it's not overcast and it stays light for longer, this wouldn't be an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Kitchen lighting
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Thanks Fiona for your wonderful review. It was good to have you on board.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliaR553
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Houseboats rule!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great stay on the Amstel river! Staying on a houseboat was so much fun! It was close to the Metro and tram systems.. Away from the Centraal area which was ok because it's not too far, and closer to the marathon which was our main reason for visit..
The boat was clean and roomy.. Ed and Carmen were wonderful hosts! They accommodated us in every way we needed. We loved our stay and we would consider staying there again if we return.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
You are very welcome, with or without running shoes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saarraa26
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Houseboat! ”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We (5 adults) stayed for two nights in this simply wonderful Houseboat! All contact with Mariette prior to arrival was informative, professional and very helpful. The owners greeted us and informed us of local markets, the best way into the centre, near by shops etc...We also rented bikes which they organised (highly recommend to get around Amsterdam!!)
The boat itself was beautiful, modern, spacious, clean and fully equipped! We all simply loved the deck at the front of the boat...We spent a whole afternoon/evening relaxing, eating and drinking in the glorious sunshine!
I can't recommend this houseboat highly enough...evening specially if you are travelling in a group...much much much better and probably alot cheaper than a hotel!
Thank you for letting us stay! ☺

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
What I can say? Such a lovely review, thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing