We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous apartment in an excellent central...”
other travelers have booked this property
room 2, choose your own color of the light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
room 2, choose your own color of the light
Room Nikos 2 'ensuite deluxe' Room Nikos 2 'ensuite deluxe'..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
35 reviews
room 2, choose your own color of the light
Room Nikos 2 'ensuite deluxe'
Room Nikos 2 'ensuite deluxe'..
bathroom
garden
kitchen
hallway
hallway
room Nikos 2
room 2, choose your own color of the light
room 2, choose your own light, color your mood
bathroom
room 2
dishwasher
oven/microwave
garden
garden
expresso machine, free coffee
room 2, choose your own color of the light
room 2
room 2, choose your own color of the light
bathroom
room 2
room 2, sitting corner
room 2, sitting corner
room 2
room 2
room 2
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jag111201...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not what I had expected”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
6
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 went to Amsterdam with 2 children in the group.

Positives:
The location of the apartment is good and close to all the usual amenities. Tram stops nearby. Easy to get around. The apartment furnishings is pretty good. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and a very nice coffee maker with free coffee beans. Good TV, DVD and stocked with some DVDs to watch. Small urban garden at the back but you have to go to it via a narrow kitchen and go down few stairs. It did not seem too appealing to us in the autumn and we did not use it.
The owner Nick is very nice and looked after us well.

Negatives:
I booked the apartment thinking that this is a self contained apartment. However, only when we got there did we find out that this is house with shared entrance hall with the owners who live upstairs. At the end of the narrow hallway is a narrow kitchen. Coming off the hallway are two rooms. Hence this is not a self contained apartment.
The room towards the front has a bathroom and toilet built in on one side. No door to this so the toilet is essentially open to the room. The rooms light switch was broken so one had to turn a small knob to switch the light on. Bulbs only on one side of the room work but they make slight noise. There is quite a bit of road noise travelling into the room starting at around 5am. If you are a light sleeper then this might be a problem for you.

Room 2:
Has in built bathroom like room 1. The bathroom has a temporary looking sliding door hung from the top. The door has translucent panels and the top panel is missing. It looks a bit like a bad DIY job. The shower was too hot and we told Nick. He said that he managed to fix it by day 2 of our stay. But we did not bother to use if afterwards and all 4 of us chose to use the shower in room 1.

Within room 2 is a set of stairs going upwards to a small sitting area which has the TV. Hence the sitting area is part of room 2. It is not a separate common sitting area.

Both of the rooms open on to the main hallway which is also used by the owner who goes upstairs. Hence we had to keep the room doors closed all the time. This means that the the only way to maintain your privacy is to keep your room doors closed. This makes it more like a hotel than a family apartment.

We were travelling with two young children. Since the rooms were open to the main hallway we could not let the two children sleep on this own in one bedroom. We had to split and each parent slept with one child in each of the two rooms.

The owner live upstairs and the footsteps are quite easy to hear. Often the owners did not sleep around midnight. So if you are an early sleeper the late night footstep noise might be an issue for you. I suspect that since the other reviews have not mentioned it then it might not be an issue for everyone.

The owner lives upstairs and essentially since there is common hallway you are a guest in the owner's house. This is not a self contained flat. If you are happy to share the hallway with the landlord upstairs then this apartment would be fine for you. It has good facilities and good location.

This is not what we were expecting and with children we prefer more self contained apartments so this is not for us in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2018
Thank you for your review and tips. We have put some extra light in one of the rooms. You are writing that the apartment is not self contained, but it actually is. You have all the facilities off your own. ( 2 bathrooms, 3 toilets, a big kitchen and the garden) Indeed the front door/entry is shared, with my apartment. Almost all the apartments in Amsterdam are sharing front door, this is very common in big cities like Amsterdam. We also decribed on our site that we found the apartment not suitable for families with children, but offcourse everyone is welcome.
I agree that it is always a matter of personal taste, most of all our previous guest had excellent experiences, because of the layout, the facilities and the service of the owner nearby who can assist if needed on every hour of the day. Thanks for your feedback, it sure helps to improve the stay of my guests and maintain are status of "excellent".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithandf...
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous apartment in an excellent central location”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The apartment had everything we needed for a long weekend in Amsterdam. We were close to all the life but still far enough away for a relaxing nights sleep. If staying again in Amsterdam we would look no further than Nick's apartment. Nick was extremely helpful throughout the booking process and we quick to respond to any questions we had.
Many thanks Nick and we hope to see you again someday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Judy G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First trip to Amsterdam .”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is away from the old town but the rail station and tram stops are very close by which made getting about very easy although we were happy to find our way about by walking. The apartments are very well equipped and had everything we needed for our 3 night stay including a coffee machine and spare drinks in the fridge.
Would have liked more of a communal area as we had booked both rooms for two couples but luckily the weather was good so we enjoyed the use of the outside courtyard.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhya T
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The apartment had a lot of amenities, it was clean and nice but because of the layout it was not comfortable.”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The location was good, near tram stations, metro and grocery stores. We didn't really go to any restaurants close by but there were quite a few. The kitchen had supplies of tea, coffee, sugar, very good coffee machine. The owners were very helpful and quick to respond to any queries at any time.
The problem was the layout of the apartment. The images do show that the drawing room is accessed by a little staircase , but i didnt realise while booking, that it is inside the main bedroom, so it cannot be used like a sitting room. You cannot come from out & just dump your stuff there or sit there. The person in the other room cannot use it because it is inside the main bedroom.
Also there is no dining space/table.( though they mention 6 dining chairs) The kitchen is so narrow that it is not comfortable to sit on the single chair there and eat breakfast - no table also. It is not easy or convenient to carry your breakfast plates to the room and up the 4 steps to the living room chairs & eat there - so we found it very inconvenient.
The bathroom in the main bedroom had translucent glass (with the top panes removed - maybe for ventilation - no exhaust system in the bathroom) . The second bedroom had no door in the bathroom, so unless you are a couple, you cannot use these rooms.
The showers had too hot water, and the owner, who was always available for help, tried to set it but it didn't set properly & there was a problem with the system so one could not adjust the temperature oneself.
The garden was too tiny - rather a little back yard - again not easily accessible, because it was down 5-6 steps, there were no chairs there.
The washing machine was difficult to use as it was inside a crowded closet area but of course it could be used and functioned well. All other amenities were good and the owners were quick to respond to help us to find the light switch in that area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hros248
1 review
“Good location, great hosts”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very helpful and friendly hosts. Nice apartment with garden to enjoy the night air. Close to tram station.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing