We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern brasserie in Amsterdam”
Review of Brasserie Harkema - CLOSED

Brasserie Harkema
Price range: $13 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
“Modern brasserie in Amsterdam”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

At city center, this brasserie is a cool place to be with friends. Despite the average food, drinks and service, the overall environment worth a visit. You pay for what you get.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    178
    102
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Large modern brasserie with good food and service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good food and attentive service. Large open space, good for those who like to be seen but not for an intimate dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardUnderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“nice and trendy restaurant, good food, slow service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

the place is in the center of amsterdam, easy to walk to any bar afterwards. The decor is quite cool, very high ceilings;a converted factory maybe so it's huge. Despite all the tables, it is not that loud. and the tables are quite small so you can hear people quite well.

the food was good and the prices decent

now the service was strange. i think because of the size of the place, you dont really have a specific waiter in charge of your table, very unpersonal style. plus because of that, the service was quite slow cause we always had to ask for stuff, no one would really come to us.
that is the only downside.
i would still recommend it cause even if the service could be faster/more personnal, it is after all a cool place with good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Late, late nioght dinner”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was quite late, for Amsterdam time, to have dinner, and the concierge gave us the address of this brasseri, where we arrived at 11pm. Even though we had an excellent meal, entrecôte... the place was almost empty as everybody had already left, so we had no idea how it looked full. The place is huge with 3 diferente settings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had a great meal here. We ended up her when other restaurants were busy, but glad we did. Had a very reasonably priced meal in a very nice restaurant. Great service and not too far from the main Dam square

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HereToReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Harkema also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing