We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food in Jordaan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caramba

Caramba
Reserve with
Caramba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,167 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food in Jordaan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Small restaurant with Mexican food in the Jordaan near market. The food was very tasty, prices were very reasonable, the service & wi-fi were a little bit slow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valeria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    37
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite -affordable, delicious, friendly restaurant in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great food! Delicious steak with generous portions of vegetables. Warm & colorful atmosphere, friendly smiley staff... Good place to enjoy and please your senses!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pilimarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here with my girlfriend and we loved it. The Ravioli is delicious and I can recommend the pacifico for drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Somewhat dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was drawn to this place by the good reviews, but I was quite dissapointed. I expected a pristine mexican food, but I think only the nacho sauce as an aperitizer satisfied my expectations. The main dish was a disappointment - meat and tastless shrimps literally swimming in oil, while guacamole was too creamy and of little taste. Service is very good, but when you see the cook going regularly out to smoke cigarettes is not really a good indicator.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, unusual food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The people here were the friendliest and most welcoming that we found in the Jordaan District during our stay. The service is top notch, and the menu is interesting. That said, the fajitas were strange (swimming in oil and balsamic vinegar). If you're used to Mexican food in the US, these were not it. But other plates looked good. Guacamole is nice, and atmosphere is definitely desirable. I'd go back and try something else.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caramba also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Caramba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing