We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and personal experience. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Burrito

Burrito
Reserve with
Burrito is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,505 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and personal experience. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

The chef recommended the mixed chicken and minced beef burrito and I loved every bit of it. There was so much comfort about dining here and almost everything from dips to the tortilla wraps were made by them.

Helpful?
Thank sabreenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Edible, but this is not Mexican food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Judging from older reviews, Burrito used to be a local favorite, serving down-to-earth dishes for a friendly price. Since then, prices have gone up (but are not rediculous) and the quality has taken a dive. Margherita's were fine, bt the rest of the meal under par. How does a Mexican restaurant manage to ruin the simplest entree: tortilla chips with melted cheese? As for the main course, veggies were not fresh, packaged ingredients tasted like the smelly processing factory they came from and there was no evidence of any spices used in any dish. Service was friendly, but had no command of the Dutch or English language. Didn't bother trying Spanish, as the staff clearly have no Latin-American roots. They do try, but miserably fail at Mexican cooking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Homemade, homely, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had tacos and burritos and the food was plentiful, very tasty and was like homemade food. We could not fault what we ate in any way, it came out piping hot and was extremely tasty.

The staff were friendly and helpful and offered our children fries to go with their meal, rather than rice or beans. Good vegetarian choices too.

The restaurant was busy when we went (on a Saturday night) and the atmosphere was good (one large table were celebrating a birthday), but we were lucky enough to get a table (having not booked)

It's certainly not an upmarket place, but for a family of 4 we ate a main course each with a couple of beers and glasses of wine for around 65 Euro. We found it to be excellent value for money and the food and staff were both excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & Helpful Staff. Delicious Burritos.Fill your Belly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is not a glossy, expensive, spot-lit and marble-tiled restaurant with delicate flower arrangements on the tables.

Thank god for that.

It's very slightly scruffy with warmly coloured decor and old black white photos of Mexico on the walls. The menu is flexible and the friendly waiting staff will help you decide what exactly is the most tasty way to stuff your belly.

My son and I had a very welcome, home cooked meal. I didn't have room for all of mine, the portions were so generous but my son managed to scoff all of his and then spent the rest of the evening talking about it. He gazed wistfully at the restaurant when we walked past it the next morning and was still talking about it on the flight back to Liverpool. I told him we can cook burritos at home and his plaintive response was, 'But it won't be the same, I just know it won't.'

We are both foodies, love cooking and are therefore very critical when we eat out. We both loved this understated restaurant with the helpful waiting staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were staying in the Alp Hotel and on the Saturday night we went to Café Burrito. The atmosphere was nice and the staff were very warm and friendly. The food is nice and somewhere I would go again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrito also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Burrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing