We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beulings

Beulings
Ranked #415 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $53
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Beulings is tiny, but serving food with great allure. The kitchen is daring and adventurous and with knowledge of the classics. All the products are made in our own kitchen. We go far and maybe even a bit beyond.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This restaurant is one of those places you would like to keep as your personal secret. Unfortunately, we live to far away to come here regularly, so we do share our great experience and hope other travellers may also enjoy this lovely place.
We spent a weekend in Amsterdam with friends and wanted a restaurant in walking distance from our hotel. After reading the positive reviews about Beulings, we decided to try it and made a reservation in advance (necessary, there are not many tables).
There is no menu, but the waitress explains the choice of a 3, 4 or 5 course dinner with 2 options per course. One can decide during the dinner how many courses one really wants to have. This is nice, because inbetween the courses, we had so many small amuses, that by the end of the dinner we skipped dessert. We also opted for the winematching with every course.
We have not counted the number of courses (just many), but each one was beautifully presented and a surprise in taste. All four of us agreed that the dinner in this simple, but cozy restaurant was fabulous and very reasonably priced.
The staff is young and very enthousiastic. All seem to be happy to work here and make the dinner for their guests memorable.
The only minor point about the restaurant is, that it might get a bit noisy, when all guests are happily chatting while waiting for their next surprise.
We thank the team for a great evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snorringBommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    21
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
2 reviews
“Tasty in a cozy setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend this restaurant for it's non-traditional Italian food in a very comfortable setting

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mathias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a small, lovely restaurant with excellent service and good value. We had a very enjoyable, relaxed meal here on our last night of a 12 day trip. Staff was very helpful and we were not made to feel uncomfortable when we opted for wines by the glass, not bottle, and only had three courses. Not the case in other restaurants we visited. Food was very creative with the amuse-bouche being some of our favorite's of the meal. Husband is not a foodie, so some courses were a little much for him, but overall it was very good and an excellent value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
220 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“superb dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I have experienced a superb evening dining at this wonderful lovely little restaurant. Booking was arranged for me and I had no idea what to expect, but the surprise was a great one. Reception was friendly and service was perfect. Personnel knew the menu in all its detail. The entire evening is like a surprise, you don't know what you are getting to eat until you had about 3 to 4 amuses and the cook comes over and lets you choose between two spectacular 3 course menus. In between the courses more little tasteful surprises are served. It has been a long time I had such a great dinner and I am sure it will take a long time I will have it again. Or, I have to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant, Intimate, Exclusive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We live close to the restaurant, and this was our first trip - we were full of anticipation and the experience did not disappoint.

Food presentation was exceptional - service was just right, wine selection very appropriate. We thought the dishes were delicate and well balanced, particularly the fish.

We went as a couple, and it was an excellent "date night" experience. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beulings also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Beulings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing