We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Betty's

Betty's
Ranked #491 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

As a meat-lover, I was a bit reluctant when this place was suggested as a venue for a final hen-trip meal. However, I had an absolutely fantastic time - the food was great and the host was good fun. We were half an hour late (having misjudged the tram times) but he was great and really got us into the spirit of it.

Food was really lovely and opened my eyes to the wealth of vegan food available. Comments about the host being a show-man are justified, but we felt that this just added to the whole experience. His love of food was so evident, and it enthused us to analyse and enjoy every part of every course.

We thought the bill would be horrendous, as we had also chosen a couple of good bottles of wine, but it worked out at less than £50 each! Amazing!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sadieinperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savona, Italy
Level Contributor
335 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This restaurant can change the carnivouros mentality to everybody.
All specilities are a food invention with a mix of favour that never can found in all vegetarian restaurant.
Really professional suggestion from the Owner with an high involving power in his menu.
Satisfactory price and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucianoferro61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food but more staff please!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a very similar experience to Boot95. We were kept waiting for around half an hour before anyone took an order from us and we did not get our first drink until we had been there around 45 minutes. I was really thirsty and hungry too! One guy serving tables, making drinks and doing the blurb is not enough and a junior member of staff would have made all the difference. I do think that there should be a menu with the prices of drinks and, as some other people have said, the prices are a little exaggerated.
The food was very tasty. We go to lots of vegetarian restaurants and the food was original, healthy and delicious here but we are unlikely to return as the service made it a very frustrating experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D00ber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“too expensive for the quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Following the very good comments here on TA , I made a table reservation last weekend that was confirmed at once , but had to be reconfirmed two days before visit. I was a bit disappointed about the whole thing...the food was okay, but not more than avarage , the waiter / restaurant keeper more show man than a discret host; his clothing was dirty ( shirt and trouser!), a sauvignon blanc white wine 11,-€ per glass much too expensive for the quality, incoming guest at 9 PM were nor more served as " in Amsterdam one has dinner earlier than elsewhere", no outside area and seats, we will not come back ...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Stephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Original vegetarian dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Second visit to this vegetarian fine dining establishment in Amsterdam (first in November 2010). The food is extremely well presented and flavoursome (it’s a set meal that changes every week so there is no menu). The owner takes time to explain the ingredients and brings around a number of oils and spices to add to the dishes. Meals are fairly substantial so we did not have any room for desert but they did look very good. Wine and coffee were also excellent. My only criticism is that there is no indication of the price of anything so you will need to ask (which could feel a bit embarrassing once you’ve been seated). It isn’t cheap so it’s a final splurge type of place to enjoy on your last day if you are visiting Amsterdam on holiday or for a special occasion if you live there (two courses with a bottle of house wine for two people plus one coffee was 100.50 Euros).

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joes_Breaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Betty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing