We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Liked it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addis Ababa

Addis Ababa
Ranked #612 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Liked it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

When I entered the restaurant I was unsure since it was empty on a Thursday night (which is usually not a good sign!). However I had a good surprise. It was the first time I tried Ethiopian food and it was very good! Unfortunately I don't remember the name of the dishes, but we ordered two diffrent ones and ended up with an enormous mixed plate with quite a few different kinds of vegetables and meat. We ate the "Ethiopian way", i.e., with our hands and helping us with the bread, and it was amusing and interesting. We accompanied this with a bottle of red wine, which was not superlative but enjoyable. The service was good and the owner was very nice (he came to ask where we were from and if we were enjoying, etc). I would say the price was medium for Amsterdam (45 euros in total). The only fault is that the restaurant is not particularly thrilling on the aesthetic point of view: it's quite plain, but overall ok. In conclusion I would recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conticchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Superb ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Had visited this family owned restaurant with my friends on our 4 day stay in Amsterdam and found the hospitality way beyond comprehension unlike most ethiopian restaurants I have been to . The food is none to second in terms of its quality for the price u pay. besides when it comes to Ethiopian food, for me what counts most is how the servings reflect Ethiopianism where by they do put efforts to make sure you are satisfied, making me felt I am in addis. would definitely go back there ..

Helpful?
Thank Mignote A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steinbach, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unfamiliar delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

How do you eat Ethiopian fare? The meat was spicy, lentils were the specialties, and at the end you get home-roasted Ethiopian coffee on the house. Down-to-earth atmosphere, good value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolinagotohell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A taste of Ethiopia in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This small ground floor restaurant is situated on a main road near to Vondel Park. My husband and I enjoyed a delicious, totally different (to us) , inexpensive meal, shared on a platter of casseroled lamb and a vegetarian meal, eaten with engeer (a type of pancake). Cutlery was also provided. A range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks were available and included coconut beer in a coconut shell and banana beer.
The staff were most hospitable and friendly, offering us a table indoors or on the pavement in front of the cafe, on a main road which was interesting, watching the trams and cyclists go by.
Tables were decorated with a rose and a candle.
We then recommended it to 2 more people, who we took with us during our holiday in Amsterdam and they also enjoyed it and would recommend. One of these was my elderly mother, almost 90 years of age! They made quite a fuss of her and as she couldn't manage a meal, they offered her a bowl of soup. Very obliging. Will definitely go there again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerlily954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Food was very good and the atmosphere was indeed special and they also have enough vegan options. Coffee was also special as well as the beer from the coconut shell.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geoL110981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Ababa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Addis Ababa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing