We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with an artisy atmosphere”
Review of Dulac

Dulac
Ranked #95 of 103 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
294 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great dinner with an artisy atmosphere”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I were recommended to come here by our BnB which was just on the next street over, first we came the day before and just had drinks at the bar, since we already had reservations at another restaurant. The bartenders were very friendly and we talked a little as we had our drinks. The next night we came back for dinner. It was a Wednesday night and was busy (all the tables were full) at 8pm. There was another couple leaving so we were seated pretty quick. We had the same waitstaff as the night before and they remembered us which was nice. We ordered the bread plate which came with juicy green olives, a herb butter and a tomato mixture, and of course a warm basket of yummy soft bread. We also ordered the Italian Red wine they had (had only two varities) and the wine was delicious. I ordered the shrimp which came with Pommes Frites and salad and 5 humongous shrimp. My husband had the Amsterdam steak which came with a salad, potatoes, veggies and a blue cheese dressing on top. The food was very satisfying and was served promptly. We decided to take the rest of our wine to go (Thank you Europe!) and ordered a slice of homemade Apple Pie with homemade cream to go with. We went back to our BnB and finished our wine and ate the pie with the fresh cream. Absolutely amazing! Please check out Dulac for dinner or drinks, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First introduction to Bitter Balls!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were originally headed to de Blauwe Druif but they were packed for happy hour so we crossed the street and went to Restaurant Dulac. A fun little place (even if we did need a step ladder to get onto the bar stools) for drinks and snacks (didn't get a chance to have a meal). Our guests had never had Bitter Balls so we decided they had to try them. They do them quite well here - and they were a hit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerriAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great late dinner”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ate a fish with a salad and swapped fries with a potato. Fish was tasty, potatoes baked with herbs and full of flavor. I got lucky, for me the meal was perfect.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaisinT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very relaxed and chilled Lunch”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

great place to grab some lunch and chill out in great looking surroundings. Would highly recommend if in the area,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An adventure”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate here because it was getting a little late and the other place that we had had our eye on was full. It was not an unqualified success - the food took a while to come (we were warned that the chef was starting late that evening so there would be some delay) and the lighting was somewhat lurid and the furniture a bit basic. It was a hot day, so the drinks were very welcome. The food was reasonably tasty but was not sophisticated cooking. Service was friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank petmarscrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dulac also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dulac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing