We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claes Claesz now called restaurant Dwars.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Claes Claesz in de Jordaan
Ranked #2,543 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Claes Claesz now called restaurant Dwars.”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were looking for traditional Dutch cuisine without the fondue so headed to a restaurant we read about in a guide book, highly recommended - Claes Cleazs. After ordering our food we discovered the restaurant had been reopened 6 weeks before under new name , Restaurant Dwars and they specialise in regional foods and produce.

I have eaten in London and Paris and had awesome meals in both places, BUT, the meals we ate tonight at Dwars has been best experienced in our entire visit to Europe as yet. Highly recommended and very reasonably priced. The service was excellent by very busy staff who always remained attentive to our needs.

We will try our hardest to get back to this little gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionagunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent, though now called 't Smalle”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Wondered upon the place by chance but really glad we went in. Had a really nicely cooked piece of pork in a pernod sauce and a fillet of beef in a satay sauce - both excellent honest meals served with well cooked vegetables and chips.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank munse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food and nice ambiance”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This restaurant is now known as 't Smalle. There is a brown café round the corner of the same name so don't get them muddled up.
I went to a dinner & show event organised by Xaviera Hollander. The three course meal was tasty and well presented (portions were rather small) but this is usually the case when a show and meal are combined.
I would definitely recommend it and would like to go back there for a regular evening out.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerzura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

A little off the beaten track in the Jordaan district, we were a little unsure as nobody else was dining in the restaurant (although we were a little early). Both ordered lamb shank, which was beautifully cooked and well presented. More people came in as we were eating, which helped the atmosphere to improve. Friendly, quick service and would recommend.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice French restaurant with good service”
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I found this place by accident one night. I was looking for somewhere to have dinner and it started to rain so I ducked into the first place I could find. The restaurant is small but nicely decorated and felt very comfortable. They offered a 3 course meal at what seemed like a very reasonable price for Amsterdam (25 Euro). At 8:00 PM the restaurant was pretty full (mostly locals) so you may need reservations. The food was nicely prepared and very flavorful.

Overall the experience was very pleasant I enjoyed being somewhere that didn't cater mostly to tourists.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claes Claesz in de Jordaan also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Claes Claesz in de Jordaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing