We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice bar, good food”
Review of Berkhout

Berkhout
Ranked #19 of 108 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Wels, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice bar, good food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

just wanted a small snack and a beer for refreshment! we had the omelette and the snack mixture! beer was of course cold and alright; omelette was great, in taste and size! snack mixture was also very tasty!! would come back for another time if in amsterdam again!!

Helpful?
Thank architgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great cafe in a great location!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Cafe Berkhout is directly across the street from the Heineken Experience, on a great corner to people watch, and nearby the Albert Cuyp Market and plenty of other bars and restaurants to wander to. The bartenders and owner are all very friendly, and the drinks and food are good. It's a cozy little place that's perfect to stop by.

We also rented the apartment above the Cafe and it was fantastic! Ask for Tom to give you more information about renting it. Such a perfect location to explore Amsterdam from and a fantastic space. It was wonderful to have such a great cafe as our downstairs neighbor:)

We will be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wheressarawaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little bar serving well priced, good quality wine”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We visited twice during our three day trip to Amsterdam as we didn't find it easy to locate many simple and affordable bars. A lovely setting, friendly staff and well priced drinks. Didn't eat but menu looked good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a drink or to have lunch”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We came here for lunch and ordered the 'kroketten'.
Friendly staff, good food, plate was dressed nicely.
The music was not too loud, mainly 80's.
Will go there again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good friendly bar”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a few beers at this bar twice - friendly service and clean. Whilst I did not eat the burgers looked great - mix of tourists and locals

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkhout also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Berkhout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing