We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Meal Our Whole Trip!”
Review of Berkhout

Berkhout
Ranked #19 of 110 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: De Pijp
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Best Meal Our Whole Trip!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

On our last day of our week long Amsterdam trip, I asked my husband what meal had been his favourite. Without a thought, he said his sandwich at Berkhout. And I'd have to agree. My husband had a hummus and roasted vegetable sandwich, and I had a brie and pear, and the entire time I sat there I was raving about how delicious my sandwich was...and then I had a bite of his. It was better! I didn't think that possible at the time.

Not only was service impeccable (it was quick, friendly, and staff even offered suggestions on local hotspots, like the Brouwerij 't IJ), the location was ideal for a quick bite after the Heineken Experience.

My advice to everyone in or going to Amsterdam: Go here and order a sandwich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    55
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great surprise. Delicous food and chill atmosphere. Mexican burger, potentially best burger ever. Steak sandwich.....yum. go.

Helpful?
1 Thank ikaikakincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited here after the Heineken tour. I live in Europe and it was one of the best lunches I've had over here in years! I had the steak sandwich with pesto (highly recommend). Great service and very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YouAreHere_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“right across the street from the Heineken Experience”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very good service, extremely cold beer, and it is across the street from the Heineken Experience. This is a great place that everyone should visit. Good atmosphere, nice view, good drinks, and nice people.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Living2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great bar next to Heineken Experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cafe Berkhout is a great little bar opposite the Heineken brewery and close to the Rijksmuseum. After visiting both of these attractions, I had a relaxing drink here, the bar offers a decent selection of drinks, and I also had a quick snack which I found inexpensive. The place has a good atmosphere and offers many seating or stools around the bar when busy. I'd definitely recommend checking out this great place for a drink.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukeUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkhout also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Berkhout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing