We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Japanese but best in small group”
Review of Akitsu

Akitsu
Ranked #1,024 of 3,954 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality Japanese but best in small group”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Decided to try out a new Japanese restaurant and found tis one on Tripadvisor based on good reviews.
We were a group of 8 and therefore above the average size but time between ordering and starting our meal was painfull.
On the positive once arrived the majority of us were pleased with our dishes and all commented on the quality of the Sashimi. For a decent amount go for the large portion!

In summary. I would reccommend for the quality of the food but go with a small group.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    29
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant, will be back”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

By far the best sushi I've had in Amsterdam. We went there for dinner on a Wednesday evening and it was great. The service was really nice (non dutch service, only Japanese), good manners, and very friendly. The food was good, very fresh and tasty (there are some cookers standing behind the bar preparing some dishes, so everybody can see them). There are lots of options for sushi lovers and lots of options for non sushi lovers (I really recommend the California roll.... delicious). Ideal to spend a nice quiet evening in good company and enjoying great Japanese food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Amsterdam”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

By far the best sushi I've had in Amsterdam, with nice friendly efficient service. Lots of options for non sushi eaters too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB_1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb sushi, at the low tables or for take out”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Akitsu serves super fresh sushi, expertly prepared. It's a joy to eat there, especially if you can get to one of the two low tables and sit on the mat - our favourite is the spicy tuna roll - but the tuna and salmon they select for the sashimi is excellent. Try the salad - lovely dressing. Compared to some of top sushi restaurants I've been to in London, New York and Tokyo, I think Akitsu is really among my top ten. It's got a homely feel (slightly overlit but in a way that's part of its charm). Service is attentive but not intrusive.

We'd love to dine more often as it's local to us - but we have small kids, so we compromise and get take out food from here about every 6 weeks. Not cheap, but really worth it - it's an event to unwrap the food at home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Sukiyaki”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I want there to eat sukiyaki and I did. The best. I went there with my husband and my son they don't really like Japanese food but I ordered for my husband beef teriyaki which he liked he also tasted my sukiyaki which he also did like. For starters we had 2 rolls of sushi ( tempura roll & California spicy roll) both was ok but hot plates where better, we also ordered spare ribs with teriyaki sauce. The resturant was busy, stuff is helpful but service is too slow.
I will defiantly will go again for sukiyaki.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akitsu also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Akitsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing