We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice ethiopian food and athmosphere, but have had better!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Axum

Axum
Ranked #916 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Heerhugowaard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice ethiopian food and athmosphere, but have had better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

The restaurant had a cosy ethiopian athomsphere, also the food was solid ethiopian staple food with good injera basis. Only my favourite sauce of them all, shiro wot, was a disappointment, therefore one minus point.

But for anyone wanting to experience an african meal, but not necessarily being fond of very spicy food, a good place to start.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Minna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memorable food and atmospere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Highly recommended for unusual and delicious food as well as an intimate and friendly atmosphere. We felt as though we were eating in someone's home rather than an impersonal restaurant. The food was full of flavour, fragrant with a touch of spice, and very reasonably priced. Try the wonderful Ethiopian coffee - rich and aromatic. A real find.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkRAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Traditional Ethiopian which aint bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

If you are looking for something different and yiu have never tried Ethiopian food give this a go. You eat with you hands to its best to wash them before your food arrives.

We had a lamb stew, a beef dish and spicy fish dish. Its is all served with a giant pancake/crepe thingy which vegetables, pickles and other assorted accompanying dishes are placed.

The lamb was a bit fatty, but tasty. The beef was good and the fish was excellent. It was all accompanied by a nice bottle of Malbec La Linda which is one of my favourites and was not overpriced.

It would have been even nicer if the service was a bit better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent small Ethiopian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife, son and I went to Axum for dinner during a recent trip to Amsterdam. We were very overjoyed as the food was excellent and the lady serving, cooking and everything else was very kind and helpful. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b_robin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“So very unusual for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

This was our first Ethiopian food experience and we loved it. If you want a quick meal, this may not be the place for you. The food was so different to what we normally have at home and it is a very relaxed wee eating place. Go there and experience something totally unique. 111 euros for one course for 8 of us, including a drink each, which we thought was very reasonable. Would definitely go back for more if we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hann9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Axum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Axum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing