We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem off the beaten track.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Zotte

De Zotte
Ranked #283 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden gem off the beaten track.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Struggling for a place to eat in a city we didn't speak the language, my fiancee and I came across this place accidentally on tripadvisor. After a bit of a trek and with the help of google maps we found it. Initially we were a bit skeptical, the outside of the restaurant wasn't overly appealing and also extremely cramped.

Upon entering we were seated, shown an extremely extensive and impressive beer list and assisted with our order by a nice waitress/bar-tender. While the food menu isn't as exhaustive as the beer list there is certainly something to suit most tastes. We had a lovely meal in a cosy, cool. chic little restaurant. I would certainly recommend those looking something a little different to pay De Zotte a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    91
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great beer and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We'd seen the Tripadvisor reviews and decided to go along on a rainy Sunday evening. My sister is a vegetarian, so I had a nice chat with the friendly chef who had made a quiche for the veggies amongst us.
The range of beers is great (including La Chouffe, which came in the proper glass) and the food was tasty.
It's quite dark in the bar, so my photos are a bit rubbish, but we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beers, great relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We came to this place for a couple beers in the evening having read about it being a cool place. It was a cool place, good music, amazing selection of beers and very nice atmosphere. We didn't have a meal, but requested some cheese and bread at the last minute, which was really good. Fantastic dark bread - somekind of sour dough or rae I suspect.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danlikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer, even better food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

De Zotte is a must if you are a beer lover. The staff were really attentive and the food was amazing!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samtraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great bar, friendly staff, fabulous beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Love this place. Hundreds of fantastic, mostly Belgian, beers. Warm, friendly environment that just gets warmer and friendlier as the evening progresses and the beers take effect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vexillum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Zotte also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Zotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing