We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm, fries.”
Review of De Zotte

De Zotte
Ranked #279 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“mmm, fries.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a rainy night, we didn't feel like going far. So, we looked in the handy map view, and found De Zotte. It was highly recommended, and seemed to be open. That was good enough for us.

And we were not disappointed. Maybe 5 stars is a little generous, but certainly we had no complaints. The fries are, as promised, really exceptional (and we were just in Belgium so we have a reasonable point of comparison). I had the filet of lamb and my wife had the quiche, both of which were very good. For Amsterdam, I would say the value for money is quite reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bwebste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    92
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing beer, amazing steak!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We came here on recommendation and we weren't let down. We arrived to an empty bar as it was still quite early but spoke to the barmaid who made us feel welcome and advised us what beer we might like (from an extensive menu!). Also ordered the steak which was one of the best I have ever eaten (order it blau). We left and returned later in the evening to a packed bar with a great atmosphere. Everyone was so friendly and despite it being busy the staff still made time to come to our table and recommend our next beer whilst listening to some of my favourite music.

Overall a fantastic experience, we left with massive smiles on our faces! We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“My favorite place in AMS -- fantastic food, value, & service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I wish I could give de Zotte 6 stars. The food is fantastic. Besides being a great meal, the value of the meals are absolutely the best I have found after coming to Amsterdam nearly 10 times now.

The service is also the best I've had in Holland. Our bartender/waitress, Nikka, was efficient, friendly, helpful . . . and provided such great service that all of my fellow American friends wanted to take her back home with us to the USA. Thank you again, Nikka!!!!!!!!

I almost hate to write this review because many people might find this hidden treasure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDonnieDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lamb stew and fantastic beer selection”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

More than 300 Belgium beers to choose from, plus great food and fantastic pomme frites! What else do u need? This is a small unassuming place with great service. If u r looking for great beer, then this is the place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jairo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The best beer and food in the world, this gorgeous Belgium brown bar is a treasure from Amsterdam. Fab music too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Zotte also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Zotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing