We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely houseboat”
other travelers have booked this property
View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View
View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
View
View
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
msZZainal...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely houseboat”
Reviewed November 6, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Pantheos is in an excellent location. We stayed here for 5 days and it wasn't long enough. We could walk to all the interesting spots. The Noodermarkt on Saturdays and Mondays were our favourite and just minutes away.
The houseboat is cosy and comfortable. Our friendly host gave us a warm welcome and provided us with fresh fruits, fruit juices, eggs and lots of beverages. We even share a love for the same kind of music.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Amsterdam. Thank you Fake.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstenh5...
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed November 2, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

The boat was phenomenal. The layout was perfect and the location was optimal. Fake was great. He met us at the boat and walked us through all of the amenities. So, very helpful. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolly M
1 review
“Great Stay . Poor administration.”
Reviewed September 1, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a really lovely time;Fake left us fruit, wine, beer, chocolate, flowers and all the essentials for cooking. It is so near everything which meant we had loads of time to hang out on the boat as well as enjoying a couple of city centre attractions every day. There is a great record collection and netflix. The shower and bed are great. It is safe and secure and Fake is on hand at the end of a phone if you need him, but does not intrude.
We walked everywhere... To Nemo, to Maritime museum, to pedal boats, to Anne Frank house (take the second to last tour of the day, (no big Bags) book earlier in the day... Easy peasy. The last tour leaves little time in the shop and you are hurried at the end!). We shopped at Albert Heijn and ate out at a nearby Italian restaurant. Be aware that the oven on the boat does not work. It is a retro experience which we loved. Great Modern TV and music systems though. Wi-Fi works well. Front door takes some practice! Trip advisor lost all my booking details but over a rather stressful couple of weeks I managed to get them to reinstate the platform. Their expectation that I provide screenshot proof that I could not get in was bizarre and stressful and I was thrown from one customer support worker to another until finally getting contact with someone who had the technical know how and communication skills to sort it out.Spent a fortune on calls. I'm not sure I would trust them with an expensive booking again.Fake was helpful and reassuring throughout though. All good in the end! Would have given four stars but for the pre trip stress!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A 5-star experience of the Prisengracht”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Two of us spent a month on the Pantheos. We hope to return. There is no better way to enjoy Amsterdam's canal life. No hotel or apartment provides such an unobstructed 180 degree view of a canal. Most other houseboats lack the covered outdoor area like that on the Pantheos. Plus, there is no other boat on the south end so that there is a clear view of the Prinsengracht. The nearby Westerkerk bell tower plays music to keep the time. We befriended the bird life. We got to recognize the tour boat captains. We enjoyed seeing the locals taking their small vessels up and down the canals after work and on the weekends. We directed tourists who were on rented boats and became lost. We enjoyed the sounds of passing horses and carriages on the west side street. There is very little automobile noise in this city of bicycles. The Pantheos was built to be a house on the water rather than being a sea vessel converted to a living space, so it is functional, bright, and airy. The windows have shades for privacy. Both the bed and the sofa bed are comfortable (one of us slept on top of the sofa rather than opening it for convenience). All necessities are provided, including a drying rack for laundry (although clothes are nearly dry from the spin cycle of the washing machine). However, we recommend you bring shower soap, shampoo, and other toiletries. The owner lives on the houseboat when it is not rented and leaves many cooking ingredients for his guests. He also provided a lot of fresh fruit and various drinks including juice, coffee, tea, and wine. Bottled water was also provided but the tap water tastes fine. There are closets between the kitchen and bedroom area for luggage and clothing. One closet also contains a washing machine. Under the kitchen counter there are a refrigerator, dishwasher, oven, and storage. The bathroom is large with a spacious shower, toilet (no bidet), sink, counter area, and window. Plenty of towels and washcloths are provided. The deck chairs and other furniture are comfortable. The owner Fake was readily available and is a kind and friendly person. We had researched all of the houseboat rentals we could find online and the Pantheos proved to be the absolute best one.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBMaui
Maui, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and houseboat!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a great location! We were greeted by Fake and started our adventure. Everything is nearby and the houseboat was so clean and perfe3ct. eally did not want to leave. Everything is just as it looks. The bathroom waas extral laerge which was a sweet surprise. Bed was so comfy I did not want to leave it. Sheets were super soft. The owner was very nice. I think that it is appropriate for 1-3 people. When I go back to Amsterdam I will only stay on the houseboat. Thank you Fake and aloha for the wonderful experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylee222
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another incredible stay!”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
5
people found this review helpful

We have recently returned from yet another incredible stay on this wonderful houseboat. We were greeted warmly by Margriet (Fake's sister) on this occasion who was great! Such a lovely lady. :)

The location of this boat is perfect!!! Walking distance from everything and plenty of lovely restaurants and bars nearby - we were spoilt for choice. There is also a great supermarket just around the corner.

The facilities are great, we had everything we could ever need!

As with our last trip, we loved spending our afternoons/evenings relaxing out on the boat deck watching the world go by.

A beautiful boat in a beautiful city, we will be back soon and would not stay anywhere else in the city. Thanks Fake and Margriet for another lovely stay. See you again soon.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible with out doubt the only place to stay when visiting Amsterdam!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you want to feel like you have a home away from home then this is your only choice. Fake the owner has everything on this boat you could possibly need on your stay making you feel right at home. The house boat is situated about 10 mins from the heart of the city and is in the best area in my opinion. its a more locals area and lets you escape from the tourist zones which can get overwhelming. Nothing beats waking up with nice cup of coffee and sitting on the deck watching the neighborhood Coot and its chick swim past. The girlfriend and i will be coming back next spring. cant wait!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing