We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very cozy, friendly bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Tabac

Cafe Tabac
Ranked #790 of 3,373 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Asian, Fusion, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very cozy, friendly bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Didn't eat here, but stopped in for a late night drink because it looked cozy inside and it was - very friendly and cool spot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ukievillagediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Jordaan bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice bar when in the Jordaan area. Always very full so if you see a seat try to catch it. Sometimes music can be a bit loud, but cool crowd compensates!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Otto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely summer Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I enjoy going to Tabac and sitting outside by the canal. It's great for people watching. The Jordaan is full of nice Cafes and Tabac is one of the best.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sambatullips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite night in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were recommended here by a friend and it did not disappoint. Great atmosphere, great staff and great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly bar with great music and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We came to Amsterdam recently for a weekend. We stumbled across cafe tabac by accident having tried to go to another bar which was too busy.
We loved this place and was the higlight of the bars we visited (and we went to quite a few!).
Bar staff were super friendly, and we got table service. Music complete mix of classics.
We ended the night dancing with everyone else left in the bar. Such fun and definitely will return. Thanks Cafe Tabac!

Helpful?
1 Thank kittyh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tabac also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Tabac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing