We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Cusine”
Review of Bridges

Bridges
Reserve with
Bridges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 3,855 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $106
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Bridges Inspired by Ron Blaauw Bridges seafood restaurant is located at the front of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, the location and the building are special. Bridges restaurant is all about fish! The best 'fins' possible, caught at the best moment. Always in season, never out of it. We offer a large selection of mainly Dutch seafood, whether it is in the restaurant, the Bar or the Cocktail Bar. Local, organic vegetables complement the seafood; a perfect match of the sea meeting the land, with a French twist. The Wine Room is stocked with 'great whites'; fish just needs good 'vins'.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning Cusine”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We made a reservation for the restaurant, but when we got there and saw the courtyard we decided to eat outside and order from the Bistro menu. It is located right on the edge of the Red Light District. The staff were exceptional. They knew all the ingredients in each dish, how it was cooked, how it was presented and how each dish tasted. We were treated and spoke to beautifully. When it cold a bit chilly later on, they give you warm blankets to ensure you are comfortable. All of our dishes were so nice. For starters we had the prawn and avo dish which was sprinkle with lime juice and chilli, loved it! and my friend tried the raw meat dish with caviar. That was beautiful. I Recommend you try it. I had the cod served on mash potato with shrimps in a lovely sauce surrounding it for the main. It was the nicest piece of fish I have for a ling time. The other 2 had the steak. It simply could not be faulted. The deserts failed to disappoint in anyway as well. The service, location and food made our night just perfect. I personally did not find it pricey, you get what you pay for and it was worth every cent! Thank you to the wait staff, at the of day they are the ones who make or break a restaurant. They all totally made ours with their professionalism. Lastly........Huge compliments to the Chef! Thank you for cooking us such a lovely meal. A must go in Amsterdam!
Kirsty

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remco G, Food & Beverage Coordinator at Bridges, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Kirsty S,

Thank you so much for your visit to Le Petit Bistro. I is lovely to read that you had such a 'stunning' experience with us. Thank you for recommending us!

Hope that we may welcome you again whenever back in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    197
    85
    40
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“AMAZING :)”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just an amazing dining / Culinary experience.
The lamb was amazing.
Lots of extra treats as well (can't say as they need to be a surprise!)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosebuds63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remco G, Food & Beverage Coordinator at Bridges, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Rosebuds63,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It is lovely to read that you keep secrets for our comming guests. ;-) Thanks again for your visit. Hope that we may welcome you again in the near future.

Beste regards,

Maarten Berns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Special dishes”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The dishes there were very special. The staff recommended us to pick 3 - 4 courses from the menu. All the dishes are starter-sized and were displayed like a picture. I chose 2 tartar. The one with oyster and veal was soaked in light and ginger water which gave me a very fresh feel. The other one with mackerel, white strawberries and radish was very delicious. The turbot was only a very small piece but was cooked just right. My friend ordered langoustine and pigeon breast which were also very nice. The price was more expensive than other restaurants but I think it is value for the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garfieldHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remco G, Food & Beverage Coordinator at Bridges, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear GarfieldHk,

Thank you so much for your praiseful words on TripAdvisor. Dispite that our dishes look like pictures, we are happy to read that they are tasteful! :-)

Hope to see you again in Bridges.

Kindest regards,

Maarten Berns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam Schiphol, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant in old townhall”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Restaurant with good service; good food and nice but expensive wines.
In the centre of Amsterdam.
Plates, dishes are not 100%; very nice forks, spoons and knifes.
The interior is nice but old.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remco G, Food & Beverage Coordinator at Bridges, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Tom S,

Thank you very much for visiting Bridges. Lovely to read that you even enjoyed our forks and knives.

Thank you again for writing. Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Maarten Berns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent service”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Hi bought a groupon to try this restaurant, since it was in my list. Nothing to complain! I had my birthday lunch there, the food was amazing, the wine was really good, but a bit overpriced. The service was super! We were the last one to leave the restaurant no push at all. I will definitely come back to this restaurant, also the decoration was really nice, they have a beautiful interior terrace.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Macarena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remco G, Manager at Bridges, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Macarena J,

Thank you very much for your review about your lunch in our restaurant! It is a pleasure to read you had an excellent birthday celebration! We hope to welcome you back any time soon!

Kind regards,

Team Bridges Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridges also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing