We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place not to my taste”
Review of Bridges

Bridges
Reserve with
Bridges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $111
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Bridges Inspired by Ron Blaauw Bridges seafood restaurant is located at the front of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, the location and the building are special. Bridges restaurant is all about fish! The best 'fins' possible, caught at the best moment. Always in season, never out of it. We offer a large selection of mainly Dutch seafood, whether it is in the restaurant, the Bar or the Cocktail Bar. Local, organic vegetables complement the seafood; a perfect match of the sea meeting the land, with a French twist. The Wine Room is stocked with 'great whites'; fish just needs good 'vins'.
Russia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A place not to my taste”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We wanted to have a plate of seafood on ice but actually had 6 oysters and a variety of raw fish tartar, unsalted, in small glasses which we were waiting for about 40 minutes.
The wine was good, the service was attentive.
Not a place "to die for" at my taste.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sertova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    200
    91
    40
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“not tasty”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in the Sofitel Grand and tried this place for late lunch as the restaurant is in the hotel, after flying into Amsterdam.

I was offered some dried chicken skin as a compliment. I ordered a grand plate from the raw bar, anticipating a normal plate of fruit de mer on ice. There were more starters -- some yoke with potatoes foam in an egg shell and a cucumber with ginger foam -- interesting, but not something I would like to have again.

Time passed -- obviously much longer than it would take to put raw seafood on ice. The plate arrived --- oysters were conventional -- fresh and tasty, everything else -- in little glasses cut in small pieces with sauces. The stuff in glasses was bland and lacked taste -- small cubes of seebass with white-sause, were ok, but not inspiring, the salmon cubes in another little glass was too salty. The sevice was ok, in a nice scallop shell.

Generally, the raw plate was not tasty (except for the oysters). I enjoyed the champagne (Moet, 2004) and bread and butter.Coffee was ok and compliment treats with it -- again reminded of the stuff cut into pieces from the grand plate.

Interior was modern and unpretencious, service was attentive.

Overall, the experience was very average. Recently, the food in a simple oyster bar in Heathrow airport in London, was much tastier and left me much more satisfied than what I had in the Brides.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxV_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Grand pampering”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Bridges is the stylish restaurant in the Grand hotel, the former city hall of Amsterdam. We were a bit early because of the winter weather and were received very nicely in the lounge-bar. The service was personal and friendly and everything was perfect for our special occasion. As fine dining goes, this is how it should be. However, both the food and the accompagning wine selection were not spectacular to receive excellent points on all counts. We were amazed that we had to mash the Coconut Bisque ourselves, but the result was great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

High end restaurant. Great service, great menu in a wonderful ambiance. Check out the mural when you enter the restaurant. This place is one of few that offers on site valet parking.

Helpful?
Thank alotofdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“To Die For”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Eaten here on a number of occasions and last Saturday did not dissapoint! Fantastic menu and wine matched that was great! Service was very very good and staff are so welcoming!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridges also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing