We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a manager with experience”

Cafe Americain Amsterdam
Reserve with
Cafe Americain Amsterdam is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #628 of 3,855 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $17 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Wine and dine among the local Amsterdam people, artists and actors. The ambiance in the dazzling Cafe Americain is dynamic and most of all cozy. It has been called Amsterdam's living room by many and that is exactly how it feels. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner, just a coffee or a pleasant drink. At the Cafe Americain or on the amazing terrace during the summer time, you will always feel comfortable
La Hulpe, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs a manager with experience”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

It has a lot going for it: the decor, the location, the space... And the ingredients for the food! We had some Bollinger, northsea grey schrimps (different league than normal schrimps :) ) the half lobster and Dorade fish, I chose the Dourthe n1 to accompany. It was all quite good, a little extra would make it very good. However the service...friendly, fast but with quite some mistakes ( reminds me of grammar school homework when you wanted to play outside ;) )
Bringing not enough butterknives, a crooked fork, then replace it with a small one when the main course is served. Taking the wine order just too late, halfway the main course when it arrived. Napkins...a desert without a plate :) see picture. But it was very tasty!
So you see it is an unpolished gem

Helpful?
1 Thank Pieterjan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    237
    98
    70
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Art Deco interior”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very nice interior, good pastry, service a bit slow and tough, central location. The next door Bar Americain is super, " gezellig" but still a bit exclusive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“I would not miss the brunch when in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Last year, we had a good experience with the brunch, so we did it again this year.
I have to say that it is still enchanting.
Location : downtown Amsterdam, walking distance from many museums including Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Stedelijk, etc...
Premises: 1950s art deco with a lot of brass, mirrors, high ceilings
Ambiance: live music with piano and jazz singer
Brunch: great buffet starting at 12:30. Great choice of seafood (hareng, shrimps, smoked salmon...) or charcuterie, and meat. Included is one glass of Prosecco sparkling wine.
Dessert comes a bit later, between 1:30 and 2 p.m , but it is worth the wait.
We paid Euros 39.50 for each, which I believe to be an excellent value.
The only glitch was a service obviously not at same level. Our waiter was clearly underperforming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
515 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“An American café in art nouveau style”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The American café (part of the American hotel) offers an original art nouveau athmosphere not far away from the Rijksmuseum. The food is mostly composed of salads and light dishes. On Sunday, a couple of jazz musicians add to the ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petrus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just to sit there..took me back in time!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at the American Hotel for 4 nights and of course participated in the delicious and diverse breakfast buffet. After we returned from a busy day sightseeing and dining at various restaurants in the vicinity...we were always happy to return here for a nightcap and to read the daily papers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Americain Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Americain Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing