We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food and service but overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises

Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises
Reserve with
Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 3,685 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $79
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Description: Royal Rijsttafels and Candlelight Dinner Cruises
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 different 5 course menus (Winter 2013 and Lolita) and both were very delicious. The Winter menu for 49 EUR is OK, Lolita for 65 EUR definitely too expensive. Therefore the overall rating of 4.

Helpful?
Thank tzorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    95
    25
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Completely satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sometimes it's best to go into a restaurant with no preconceived notions, just a recommendation from a trusted source. We were looking for an Indonesian restaurant in Amsterdam as we knew it was one of the city's best cuisines. Blue Pepper was truly a find, the service and wine knowledge/recommendations were fantastic and the food was delicious. Since I really knew nothing about the place, the decor and associated prices were slightly higher than I had expected, but it was well worth the price. They were very flexible with dietary requests and you could tell the sauces were made from scratch. I was very surprised at how complex the flavors were and the unique approach taken to the dishes, and loved their attention to detail in finding great wine pairings to match. All in all a great experience, but expect to pay a little bit more than average. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shergenrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“The best place to eat in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had chicken soup and satay sticks-sounds easy but never have I had them cookes so well.
Simply delicious and fantastic friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No style and limited substance ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The good thing about secluded, non-pretentious restaurants is that they tend to focus on producing good quality food for a fair price. When you pay a large bill, for just alright food in an average venue, the whole eating experience is disappointing. That was my experience at Blue Pepper. The restaurant itself is nothing to brag about and for that reason, it was obvious to expect amazing food for a relatively low price. But given that there's only the option of getting five-course set menus (or compulsory two à la carte dishes) you end up paying a huge bill for good yet average food. For the bill we paid I would have preferred to enjoy a decent meal in a fancier place.

Helpful?
Thank Ger_Ortega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We were made to feel welcome from the very start. The restaurant was buzzing, but it didn't feel crowded, and the service was excellent throughout. We spent ages perusing the menu, but that was because there were so many interesting and unusual dishes - choosing was virtually impossible - but the waitress was patiently on hand to offer advice and make suggestions- even though my husband asked the Irish manager if he spoke English, and I inadvertently offended his wife by exclaiming 'at last', when she came to take our order - I was referring to my husband's pedantic progress in making his choice!!
We are not particularly familiar with Indonesian cuisine, but our choices were simply delicious: nothing over fussy or over spiced, but perfectly cooked, wonderfully fragrant and beautifully presented. The chef is a genius!
What a shame the restaurant is in Amsterdam and not London- we would be regulars!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing