We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises

Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises
Reserve with
Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $67 - $81
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Description: Royal Rijsttafels and Candlelight Dinner Cruises
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Amsterdam has a few excellent Indonesian restaurants,that I know of but this one is certainly up there with the best. My partner and I took advantage of It's reputation and were not disappointed. From service, to drinks, to the food itself, everything was excellent. My Chicken dish was delicious and tender and my wifes dish was equally nice, so much so that she cleaned the plate. The portions are generous so that one deos not have to splurdge. The staff made us very welcome from start to finish and the fact they spoke excellent English and were extremely polite was a big thumbs up for us!

To sum up, Blue Pepper offers great value for money, excellent tasting food and a nice atmosphere. I would recommend to all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattsynchro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    97
    25
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average for high price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

There are far too many nice Indonesian restaurants in town to pay 100 euro for 2. The food was oversalted, overseasoned and really nothing special. Everything seemed to be ready before order, already processed on semi clean all same white plates. The decoration of the place is actually nice, though the place is like a corridor and so it is difficult to establish a nice atmosphere. We don't understand the high evaluation rates, but maybe people in Amsterdam don't expect much (anymore).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Domi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service but pretty expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went here with my partner in December after hearing good things about it. I expected it to be busier than it was though- we were 1 of 3 tables in there on the evening we went, meaning the atmosphere lacked that nice buzzy feeling to it.
The service however was really great and the hostess was very accommodating. The look of the place was classy and simple but smaller than I expected.
The food was of a very good quality though there were some flavours not to my liking. We went for the rice table which was the assortment of several different small dishes. The variety was really great and made for an alternative dining experience. Having said that, for what it was, it was too expensive.
I'd recommend going here on a weekend as it'll probably be more lively. And as mentioned before, expect to loosen your purse strings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

we had a great evening with a wonderful wine, the service was GREAT and fast, the food in the winter menu was surprising and refreshing, nice special flavours I have never had before!
I will sure go back and will recommend to any one who looks for a quality food & wine and relax atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cub28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
“Surprising Indonesian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We ate at Blue Pepper first weekend of December. We picked the least expensive menu for 39 euros. Very surprising dishes like a great goose lumpia and a main course of spicy baby chicken, nothing like we have ever had in any other Indonesian place in Amsterdam before. Competent service and good guidance on wines. The interior could do with a bit more colour. Otherwise a perfect evening out and for the money, a top-quality modern meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YaAt3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing