We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come again and again”

Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises
Ranked #10 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $73 - $88
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vondelpark
Description: Royal Rijsttafels and Candlelight Dinner Cruises
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We come again and again”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Indonesian food has been popular in the Netherlands. We have many reataurants where they serve Chines and Indonesian food. Unfortunately, taste and typical characteristics of the Indonesian kitchen are compromised by time and Dutch tastes. But in the Blue Pepper the real Indonesian food can be savoured and enjoyed. We had the Rijsttafel and I will not try to tell you about the delightful dishes. The only thing I tell you is that we will come agan and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    108
    27
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked a birthday party for 3 people.
I arrived late when everybody had already ordered.
From that moment on until we left, i got ignored. I didnt get asked if i wanted something to eat/drink.
and when i went to the bar to order dessertwine for the whole table, we only got 2 glasses.

i've never experienced something this weird before.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coconuts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful rijsttafel”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A small and cosy restaurant serving delicious and unpretentious food. We had the rijsttafel, like most other people and it was great. We splashed out on a nice bottle of wine and had a hugely enjoable evening. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable the food was served in good time, despite most tables being taken, with anything from couples like us to a table of eight. Book ahead and enjoy!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tasting experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Absolutely a foodies experience. Amazing combination of flavors presented beautifully. Our family of 4 enjoyed every minute and every bite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeneralDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Indonesian cuisine!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Delicious food - friendly service- calm atmosphere. The 14-dish Sultan's Table tasting menu was a delight, from the first appetizer to the trio of exotic desserts and tropical fruit. A full night's entertainment in a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdamturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blue Pepper Restaurant And Candlelight Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing