We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Off the main track” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Visaandeschelde

Visaandeschelde
Scheldeplein 4, 1078 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-675-1583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 3,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Off the main track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Almost deterred by the fact the restaurant is a way from the centre (near RAI station, but easily negotiated by frequent trams), we were very glad to have made the effort. The joint was jammed when we arrived, buzzing quietly with contented locals. A huge fruits de mer platter went by, looking tempting. We chose the three course set menu (which enabled us to try everything). Salmon tartare, squid, bass and cod were all fresh tasting and innovative. Fabulous crusty bread. Professional, friendly service. The leisurely pace suited us fine but don't go if you're in a hurry to catch a train. Cost around 160 euros for two with wine. Great place away from the tourist drag.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank peredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    99
    18
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, tasty and nice to look at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We tried several fish courses: all perfectly made, tasty and so beautiful that they could be artworks.
We got a table right outside the kitchen so we could see the cooks working: fascinating! Good white wine too! Great service, they speak English. We didn't order dessert but with coffee we got some sweets, small but very good mini-desserts!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank silvi_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was amazing! The service was fantastic and the food was the best I have had in a very long time. We went for the three course option which was more than enough. The chef even came out to explain what was on our plate. No need to go for the pudding though - if you have coffee, you get a lovely selection of sweet nibbles. Booking is required so don't miss out on this brilliant fish restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo_Nora_swimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Absolutely amazing food, each bite is melting in your mouth. I had the Lobster bisque which was deep in tastes and then the Lobster. What can I say? my mouth was singing out of joy. The plating and the way the feed is served is delightful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronit55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I had lunch there with some business partners last september during a conference.
The place is really good,we opted for a light lunch menu accompanied by a decent bottle of wine,we were impressed by the service there,really good without rushing things,Definitely go back to enjoy a dinner there,highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visaandeschelde also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Visaandeschelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing