We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visually and astronomically stimulating”
Review of Van Vlaanderen

Van Vlaanderen
Reserve with
Van Vlaanderen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #662 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Van Vlaanderen restaurant surprises its guests with traditional French cuisine with a modern twist. Our young and enthusiastic team will make sure you have a lovely evening in a cosy setting. Enjoy our beautiful a la carte or Bib Gourmand menu or be surprised by our chef with our special chef's menu with the best ingredients our kitchen has to offer. In the summer you can also enjoy our small, but cosy terrace overlooking the canal. Very close to tourist attractions like the Heineken Experience/ Brewery, Rijksmuseum and Leidseplein. Well worth your visit!
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“visually and astronomically stimulating”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Subtle but inviting decor. Wait staff very professional with a sense of humor. Wine list quite good but house wine was very good. We had the fixed price menus. the roasted lamb was perfectly cooked, seasoned and tender. Both the tuna tartar and scallops were surperb. the presentation rivals any. All in all, our best meal in Holland and one of the best on this trip, includingSpain and Portugal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEC904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    44
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We ate here for our 26th Anniversary. The meal was fantastic. Wine selection was good, house wine was fantastic. Each dish was artfully prepared with a great combination of flavors and textures. Very upscale, but I have paid a lot more for much less!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
446 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent food; very nice interior, good service”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a fixed menu, which was very good value too. Very friendly service in a full restaurant, and the food was sublime. Good wine list too. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrBrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here with great service...I saw some of the reviews that comment on the service but our service was wonderful with no issues. Our meals were all beautiful and perfectly cooked. The ambiance in the restaurant was very nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Outstanding french restaurant within walking distance of the Van Gogh museum. The food and presentation were equally great. The service could have been better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Vlaanderen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Vlaanderen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing