We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“very good again ; constant quality over the years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Vlaanderen

Van Vlaanderen
Reserve with
Van Vlaanderen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #604 of 3,629 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very good again ; constant quality over the years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

we had a special PAROOL dinner offer but that was excellent in food quality and fot the price SUPURB.
Nice service , pleasant atmosphere nice wines .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JThF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simpli brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our family of 4 enjoyed Christmas dinner here. The restaurant was brilliant. The flavours and combinations prepared by the kitchen were outstanding, the "matched" wine list from NZ, France and Italy complemented the food very well, and the service was highly professional, yet friendly. I manage to eat at a number of fine restaurants regularly through my job. This was right up there. Congratulations to all concerned. This certainly was a "fine" dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was a bit disappointed after dining in this restaurant, maybe an unlucky night. I was there with my wife we had the set menu, the food was ok but nothing special and the portion size to big for a 5 course...
On the service side was a bit slow as that night the restaurant was a bit busy and only 2 service staff where on duty and one of them didn't really look like was there..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate in this restaurant on November 21st, 2013. We both had a 3 course menu bib gourmand but not the same choices.
The meal was excellent and a most pleasant surprise. The chef manages to balance lovely flavours beautifully. The service was informal and excellent. We had a most enjoyable time and will certainly return on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank crottpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Possibly the best meal we have experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This may not be the finest location in Amsterdam, but the flavors and preparations were over the top wonderful. The Concierge at L' Europe Hotel had recommended it and made reservations for us. We selected the Prix Fixe menu for 4 courses and my wife had one starter and I the other, we continued through the whole meal this way and so tasted everything. From the start the chef amazed using delicate and inventive mixes of spices and flavors. Seared tuna rubbed with five spice and curry side flavors. The duck liver and pheasant terrine was exquisite in flavor and texture. Pike-perch and smoke eel tempura was delicate and sauced wonderfully. Ring dove was nice and gamey with risotto beet infusion.
The scallop and lemon sole meuniere was subtle and light. The venison over red cabbage was rich, sweet and spiced to perfection. Dessert was equally subtle and a nice mix. The pistachio ice cream was rich and just small enough a taste to finish the dinner. Chocolate mousse cake was almost overkill.
The restaurant felt like a local haunt but dressed up. Not pretentious nor touristy at all. Don't think you will save money here, but the wines were wonderful, and service excellent.

Not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrotherK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Vlaanderen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Vlaanderen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing