We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great date night or special meal out in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Van Vlaanderen

Van Vlaanderen
Reserve with
Van Vlaanderen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #679 of 3,727 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Van Vlaanderen restaurant surprises its guests with traditional French cuisine with a modern twist. Our young and enthusiastic team will make sure you have a lovely evening in a cosy setting. Enjoy our beautiful a la carte or Bib Gourmand menu or be surprised by our chef with our special chef's menu with the best ingredients our kitchen has to offer. In the summer you can also enjoy our small, but cosy terrace overlooking the canal. Very close to tourist attractions like the Heineken Experience/ Brewery, Rijksmuseum and Leidseplein. Well worth your visit!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great date night or special meal out in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was the best meal I ate in the Netherlands . I expect a relaxed, 2-3 hour meal at this price point, and that is exactly what I got. The food was great, but I think the service is what really made the meal feel exceptional. The waiters were friendly, helpful and attentive. We did the 3-course menu and really enjoyed it. I felt the value for the quality of the food and service was very good. I just got coffee instead of dessert, and it came with an an arrangement of little sweets. I would definitely go here again, and would recommend it to friends looking for a "nice" restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

wanted to go to this restaurant for a long time, having seen it from the street. It didn't disappoint. Crisp white table linen, truly delicious food, fantastic service (from the chef himself), elegant dining room. This is somewhere for a very special occasion. I hope to be taken back there sometime soon...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeHarryTomAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great value for money options with their 3-course menu. The amuse bouche and first two courses were absolutely delicious. We found the main course to be a bit pedestrian but I suspect that is because it was part of the 3 course menu - the mains in the a la carte option looked very innovative and tasty (and I suspect they were really good given the tastiness of our first couple of dishes). The service was absolutely professional but just a tad slow for us (note it was a Saturday night at around 7:30pm and the place was actually over-booked). I'd recommend this place but suggest going a bit earlier and go for the a la carte menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CPGetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had dinner with a large group, so that may have had an influence on what the cook was able to send out. Quality of ingredients was very high, but the taste was disappointing. Nothing special, to be honest... easily forgotten.
I will not go back here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NLBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Michelin Worthy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everything in this establishment equals fine dining. The room is understated elegance. The staff is very professional, efficient, and cordial without being intrusive. The food is excellent and creative. Last but not least, the price structure is very fair. I highly recommend this place for pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank embdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Vlaanderen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Vlaanderen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing