We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Van Kerkwijk

Van Kerkwijk
Ranked #37 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Van Kerkwijk, situated at the Nes 41 just behind Dam square, is a classic Amsterdam cafe and restaurant where you can eat and drink from early in the morning till late in the evening. Van Kerkwijk sisters have chosen a personal approach. That's why a menu doesn't exist and your options are presented at the table by your waiter. Van Kerkwijk stands for quality food and drinks in an urban atmosphere. Characteristic, easy going, value for money. You feel at home between the regular customers who keep returning for the varied menu and the relax atmosphere. Van Kerkwijk doesn't take reservations, walk in for a table or wait at the bar with a good beer or wine.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Arrived when the restaurant was very busy but had a drink at the bar until the table was ready- about half an hour. The food was worth waiting for. Good choice of starters and mains . Menu was given at the table verbally. Quirky bistro but very popular with the locals. Lots of atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreeneyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,241
    417
    77
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different but great.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Though the Kerwijk wasn't your usual dining experience, it worked out perfectly. They don't take reservations, you simply sit at the bar with a drink and wait until a table is free. This only took us 15 mins. They also don't do menus, the owner sits with you and runs through what they have, it's a bit annoying you can't see the prices of everything, but when the food arrives you no longer care how much it is. Brilliant food worth every penny, which wasn't too expensive. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavinskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very unpleasant”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went there after reading the positive reviews in Tripadvisor. For the first time we were really disappointed and we still do not understand how it is possible that this place is rated so well.
We went there at the beginning of June 2013 with family and friends (7 people in total) initially in the afternoon and they told us they did not accept reservations. They told us to come back in the evening around 8:30 and that we would have most likely found a place to seat. It wasn't the case, we were told that we had to wait around 20 minutes and that in the meantime we could have something to drink. However the place is really small and there were also other people waiting, hence there was not really any place for us to wait peacefully. Eventually (after around 35-40 minutes) and when we were about to leave they managed to find us a table and we could sit and order. They don't have a menu or at least they did not give it to us, we were told that we could order some tapas (or similar) as appetizer, and a main course between a choice of three alternatives (one fish, one meat and a third vegetarian one). The appetizers were not too bad, the mains were nothing special and definitely they could not justify the price we paid which was 26 EUR each! Definetely not expected and not worth it! in addition the service was really slow and the waiters quite rude.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travell3r85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had to wait half an hour for a table but it was totally worth it. Our entree and main course was full of flavour and cooked to perfection. The service was great even though they were very busy. This restaurant is a real gem and definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennywren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundoran
Level Contributor
172 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This small, bustling, atmospheric restaurant is located just off Dam square which makes the reasonable prices for very good food even more surprising. There is a board outside - which I didn't see until later - listing some of the dishes available but there is no menu. Rather, Dan - the most senior of the two floor staff who expertly served the entire room of about 40 covers - crouched beside us and described about seven or eight starters and main courses.

My wife had a very good pate served with what tasted like a freshly-made crusty bread and a small salad. Maybe a little redcurrant jelly might have lifted what was nonetheless an enjoyable dish. I had three mini-tortilla's filled with goats cheese and grilled aubergine served with salad and a beautiful sun-dried tomato salsa. Excellent.

A main course of Biefsteak with strawberry and blue cheese sauce sounded intriguing but my wife does not like cheese so instead had what turned out to be a tender fillet steak with strawberry sauce and a whipped herb, cream and garlic butter which all combined beautifully. My main was not as described - Dan having promised an Indian fish curry. The fish were monkfish and cod - both perfectly cooked - but the sauce was coconut based and flavoured with Lemongrass, coriander and lime. Just as well, I think as the Thai flavours constituted a much more sympathetic accompaniment to the fish than most Indian alternatives. On the side were served a salad and a dish of chips. The salad was underwhelming but the chips were delicious and came with a generous portion of creamy, slightly-garlicky, mayonnaise. Everything was washed down with a lovely Rasteau GSM. The total bill was just over €80 - and with the wine we picked the dearest on the list at €34.50 - I think this represented excellent value for a very tasty meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Kerkwijk also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Kerkwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing